We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I could not praise this hotel enough. Everything was perfect. Nice, warm, cosy rooms with lots of space, very clean hotel, great food in restaurant, free parking, free wifi and right in the centre of Kilkenny. I would gladly come back to this hotel again and again as i had a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KieranChrisRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    515
    101
    36
    9
See reviews for
220
941
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Recently stayed in the pembroke hotel and i have to say really great location , friendly staff and gorgeous room and breakfast . Would recommend this hotel for its great location as it is near all areas of interest but car park can get full quite quickly so early parking recommended.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor and could find no fault
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Ann

Thank you for your very positive comments, especially in relation to our staff, who make a great team. I hope you got to see most of the sights of the city and benefitted yourself from our central location. In addition to the on-site parking, we also have a second private carpark within 2 minutes walk, so parking is never a problem.

We hope to see you again soon

kind regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff! Stain on carpet and chair in room!! Triple room €60 pp is expensive for one night stay!! Super Ser heater in room was there for a reason.... Not extra heat but the room was freezing!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbroderick, Owner at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Una

Thank you for giving us a Very Good report overall even though you had a cold start. We are sorry that the room was cold on your arrival as we strive to deliver comfort. To be fair the supplementary heater was an oil filled radiator and not a Super Ser, which would be entirely different. There was a very sharp drop in temperatures on the evening you arrived and we accept that we should have been prepared.

Our triple rooms are large and our rates are generally regarded as quite reasonable. Your rate included breakfast and when you consider quality, free wifi throughout, free private parking and no taxi fares as we are so central I believe we offer good value.

I hope that you may visit us again and would be delighted if you would contact me to ensure you enjoy our best WARM welcome.

best regards,

John

John Ryan
Managing Director
jryan@pembrokekilkenny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilkenny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Had a fantastic stay 100% central clean friendly car parking even give a complimentary to really fantastic room

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosscats5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The hotel is very nice. It is in a very convenient position (about 5 min to the Castle).
They also have a free parking and free wifi.
The room we had was very big, as well as the bathroom. The bed was enormous, soft and super comfortable.
We had a nice view over the castle and the St. Canice's Cathedral.
The paid 69 Euros without breakfast, so I cannot really review the hotel as for that.

Suggestion: I'd definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in Kilkenny. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostinFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
0.3 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.7 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
3.1 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,464 - ₹ 15,514
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing