We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Excellent Location in Kilkenny”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Oaxaca
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Excellent Location in Kilkenny”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Hotel Is Very well located in the heart of Kilkenny. Rooms are big, comfortable, Clean and the wifi is free. Parking is available and Free.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,045
    525
    103
    36
    9
See reviews for
224
957
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We arrived in Kilkenny with no accomodation booked. As we were utilising the conference facilities at the Pembroke, we enquired about accomodation for our party of 3. We were immediately looked after and received an excellent rate. I expect we will use the Pembroke in the future when we are in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JF316_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My wife and I had a very relaxing time in the Pembroke Hotel. I had purchased a voucher for one night but the decided to extend our stay by adding another two nights. When I phoned to check possibilities, Lucy explained that they had a number of deals available. We opted to add two nights B&B plus one Dinner to our ‘voucher’ night.
When we arrived, we easily found parking at the rear of the hotel: space is limited so I can imagine that there are times when it is impossible to find a parking spot.
At Reception we received a very warm welcome from Caroline, who provided us with details about the hotel, and our ‘Welcome Pack’ which comprised a bar voucher for two free teas/coffees with Chocolate Biscuit Cake, voucher for free entry to Rothe House, 205 Heritage Discount card, voucher for dinner for two with two complimentary drinks and voucher for Kilkenny Design shop (this voucher was only applicable to a certain range of goods in the shop).
Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and bright with a view of Kilkenny Castle above the rooftops. Tea & Coffee making facilities were provided, as were bathrobes and slippers, body wash and shampoo (but no conditioner – we overheard a guest who was seeking conditioner being advised to purchase some in a nearby supermarket).
We had a wonderful time in Kilkenny: there are many excellent restaurants, coffee shops and bars. My wife enjoyed the variety of boutiques while I enjoyed walks around the castle environs and the narrow streets.
The only negative about the hotel, from our perspective, was the dinner. While there was nothing ‘wrong’ with it, it wasn’t great. It was bland hotel food and, strangely, it was not served in the restaurant but in the busy bar area, so there was no sense of occasion. We were sorry that we had not just booked B&B (the breakfast was typical buffet style) as we could have had a dinner at one of the excellent restaurants nearby (we can certainly recommend Campagne, where we enjoyed a superb dinner).
We can unreservedly recommend the Pembroke Hotel: the staff are very friendly and professional and ensure that visitors enjoy their stay. So the Pembroke has a lot to recommend it: great staff, great location and great rooms.
(They also have some arrangements for people traveling with pets.)

Room Tip: We enjoyed quiet nights with a room at the rear of the hotel, overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorcaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We were greeted by a lovely young lady at the check-in desk - she was very helpful and offered us many ideas of things to do in the area. I would love to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the castle - it's a great view in the morning to see the sun come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyirishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I have just returned from a night's stay - my second at the Pembroke, and I feel remiss that I didn't post after our first visit for a week in 2011, during the Kilkenny Arts Festival.
I agree with most of the reviews - the obliging staff, the well designed rooms, the spotless bathrooms - thumbs up for the enamel baths - so hygienic compared with the ol' plastic ones...

To the manager and staff, I know you work hard to make this No. 1 - you deserve the TripAdvisor #1 rating, and my thanks to TripAdvisor for making it so easy for us to choose a hotel that well suits us. I am looking forward to returning during the summer :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ev0lve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,899 reviews
0.3 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.7 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
761 reviews
3.1 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,614 - ₹ 15,163
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing