We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in tranquil surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Molassy Cottage

Molassy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
The Garden
Molassy Cottage
Rear Garden
Garden
Kilkenny Castle
St. Canices Church & Round Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Geoff B
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in tranquil surroundings”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a lovely thatched cottage which feels as if it's in the middle of nowhere - when you're there you feel as if you're alone on the planet. Yet there's a good sized town with supermarkets and restaurants only a couple of kilometres away.
I spent ten days here and loved every minute. It's beautifully tranquil, with just you and the birds to listen to. The cottage itself is very well equipped, and the two wood stoves warm the place up nicely, even in a chilly April. There's also central heating if you prefer.
Kilkenny with all its history is half an hour up the road, and within an easy hour's drive you've got Cashel, Waterford and Clonmel, making this a great base for exploring from.
Breda is a helpful and attentive hostess, without being intrusive.
All in all, very good and highly recommended

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guillermo...
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“authentic Ireland”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I spent a week-end with my holders at Molassy Cottage. The cottage is a short ride from Kilkenny. This place offers many opportunities to experience the Irish nature. My holders could walk me trough the neighbourhood or let me walk loose trough the fresh grass. The cottage offered all comfort for me and my holders. I could observe my holders beeing relaxed and very satisfied with the interior and they seemed to have slept very well, given their satistaction. We left the cottage with a big smile and I hope they will take me back to this lovely location.

Zico, one of Ireland's finest dogs..

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikkos75
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A typical cottage in the irish campaign”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a relaxing and calm place for you and your family, stop ! Molassy Cottage is for you !
The cottage is well equipped and has everything for a perfect stay.
My young children enjoyed a lot the garden and the different games available in the cottage. I and my wife liked the comfortable living room after the day visiting the surroundings.
The cottage is very well located near a little village (oil station, supermarket) and not too far from Kilkenny.
In addition the owner (Breda M.) is charming and very attentioned !
Try it ! You do not regret!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: le calme, le confort
Liked least: la recharge internet
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssieMcG
Sheffield, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect country escape close to gorgeous town”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My partner and I stayed along with our 3.5 year old son. It was such a great place to stay with everything we needed. Breda has done a wonderful job with the place. Very well equipped, even down to toys and DVDs for children. We loved the privacy of our own gorgeous traditional cottage and garden but at a mere 15 minute drive to Kilkenny town. We had planned to do several days trips but loved the area so much we stayed locally and enjoyed the sites to see around the county.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved everything, very homely
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebecca G
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage, lovely surroundings excellent host”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Although it has taken me a few months to finally write this review (I emailed Breda personally to express my grattitude) I would like to start by saying just how much trouble Breda went to to make our stay perfect. Putting up a Christmas tree and decorations for my arrival with my 2 children and meeting me immediately on arrival after a long journey. Ensuring WI-FI was active for the teenager which always makes things easier and providing us with some essential supplies in our welcome basket. The cottage itself is beautiful and the surroundings are lovely and quiet, which made for a peaceful Christmas break. Ideally located for myself as I have family in tipperary and Kilkenny. I can't express my thanks enough and I look forward to staying again and I would highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing