We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to see in one spot”

St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower
Ranked #8 of 53 things to do in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: St Canice’s Cathedral and Round Tower are an essential part of the structural heritage in the vibrant medieval city of Kilkenny. This ecclesiastical site was founded in the 6th century and named after St Canice. Cill Channigh is the Gaelic for the Church of Canice, the church that originally stood on the site in the 6th century.The Round Tower is the oldest standing structure in Kilkenny City. Tourists can enjoy climbing the Round Tower capturing great views of the city (weather permitting). St Canice’s Round Tower is one of only two Round Towers that people can climb in Ireland. Opening times from 29/11/2011 to 23/11/2011. Monday to Saturday 10am to 1pm & 2pm to 4pm. Sunday 2pm to 4pm. Round Tower Climb Time at 12 noon and 3pm Monday to Saturday and Sunday 3pm. Weather and staff permitting. Admission fee applies for visit into Cathedral and Round Tower. From 24/12/2011 to 02/01/2012 the Cathedral and Round Tower is closed for visiting. PLease check our website for services during the Christmas period.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We arrived to a host of kids in the chapel running around enjoying the Saturday before Easter. This did not distract too much from the amazing stained glass and other features. You are given a sheet with information on it and guide yourself through a tour. This was perfect for us as we all took our time at the areas we wanted to see more and really all went our own paths.
The tower climb was interesting as I am a big man with bad knees and fear of heights, but I made it and was not disappointed I did. What a view from the top!

1  Thank gnswhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"worth the climb"
in 50 reviews
"fear of heights"
in 22 reviews
"tight squeeze"
in 13 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 72 reviews
"worth the effort"
in 14 reviews
"small fee"
in 12 reviews
"lovely church"
in 12 reviews
"old church"
in 22 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 46 reviews
"kilkenny city"
in 23 reviews
"visiting kilkenny"
in 14 reviews
"ladder"
in 146 reviews
"climbing"
in 108 reviews
"ireland"
in 119 reviews
"graveyard"
in 43 reviews
"canice"
in 36 reviews
"ascent"
in 12 reviews
Filter

116 - 120 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

I was totally immersed in the beauty and peacefulness of the cathedral,and busy taking photos that I nearly missed it...but then I saw a girl sitting on a chair next to something black.I went closer and saw that there was a black cat,He even let me take a photo of him...really made my day!

Thank IvanaMiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

It doesn't take very long to go around this lovely old Cathedral but it's well worth a visit. The stained glass windows are lovely as is the restored organ

Thank P4308MBkenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The cathedral his well worth a visit using the self guided tour. The tower itself has 121 steps and is climbed by a narrow steep ladder. People are allowed up in small groups, so you should be able to make the climb. The final ascent is through a small hole which was not big. If you can make it you have unrivaled views over the city

Thank timliu00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Definitely climb to the top to see the view. It's a little scary when the stairs get so narrow at the top and we went when it wasn't too crowded.

Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Thomastown, Kilkenny
 

Been to St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing