We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
US$ 170
US$ 136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newpark Hotel(Kilkenny)
US$ 148
US$ 131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Zuni Hotel(Kilkenny)
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Butler House(Kilkenny)
US$ 233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Antonio B&B(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fanad House(Kilkenny)
US$ 157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,918)
Filter reviews
1,918 results
Traveller rating
923
585
231
120
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
585
231
120
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the rivercastle viewcar parkperfect locationlovely hotelfew drinkswedding receptionleisure centredeluxe roomwould highly recommend this hotellast weekendbreakfast was excellentbar foodafternoon teafamily roomtop classnore
Filter
Updating list...
1,535 - 1,540 of 1,918 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

After 3 days in a less than comfortable bed in a "homey" B&B, and 12 days of traveling the countryside of Ireland, The River Court was a true reprieve for this City girl. Gracious and welcoming staff, very pleasant, nicely appointed rooms with comfortable beds and pillows -- thank you! The outside/inside bar is friendly and staff is attentive. The dining room is lovely and for breakfast provides a wide array of options. The The location is perfect for The Parade and roaming the shop and pub filled streets of Kilkenny. I wish our stay could have been longer.

Room Tip: Like many hotels in Ireland and Europe, this is not air conditioned. The weather was muggy and warm when we arrived and fortunately they provided a fan for our room, and the windows could be opened. Good thing!1
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

A fantastic location in the heart of the city with great views overlooking the river and castle,however we booked this hotel 3 months ago and was offered a room overlooking the courtyard(car park) which was disapointing.i was not prepared to accept this as I had booked 3 months ago,they did find a room overlooking the castle which was very nice.my gripe is I should have been allocated a good room given the time I booked it.apart from this the hotel is top notch and the nicest one we stayed in out of the 3.kilkenny is a lovely city and we enjoyed our stay there for the 2 nights.if you are moving about I would email them the day before requesting the room of your choice not theirs.we had to get up at 6 to drive to catch the ferry and they sorted out continental breakfast in our room which was a nice touch.overall a great hotel and would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: If you want a river/castle view you will have to pay 25e extra but worth it but not room 113 which is above the kitchen and noisy during the day.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Aside from the cost (150e for one night) I really have nothing negative to add. The hotel is beautifully kept, right in the centre, has an amazing view, lovely food & bar, all the mod cons, simply excellent.

I imagine this would be one of the top hotels in the area, perfect for a wedding or weekend break. With its proximity to the castle (directly across the water) it's surely a preferred choice among most people.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with a balcony. You might just get the ones that faces the castle and river.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lensip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location and has the most amazing view of Kilkenny Castle. Although we did not get a room with a direct view of the castle the room was still very nice (and really you don't spend much time in the room anyway). The breakfast was a standard buffet but it was really the view of the castle in the morning that made the experience memorable. As well, there is a great place across the street for food which also has Bohron lessons every night (it was a blast!).
The only issue we ever faced was that you needed to wear a swimming cap in the pool, but really it was just more of a bummer than anything as there is plenty to do in the city instead.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family, friends or anyone I know. It was amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strac032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Had business colleagues stay there for a week end away last week; amaing service from the bar supervisor; Paul? Great service; great breakfast from a friendly chef and made most welcome by the manager Ann Marie. We will be back Paul but keep that other barman away from us John(?) Get a personality check mate!
Great room; great Security guy - Could you not find someone a bit bigger !!!!
Will return,
txtc

Room Tip: Ask for castle view if available
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conntax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews