We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“WARNING! - Avoid this filthy dump” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“WARNING! - Avoid this filthy dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

We booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children for 2 nights B&B and 1 dinner. We had stayed here previously in 2007.
I have to say that the place has gone severely downhill.
We checked in dealing with pleasant reception staff, thats where the niceness ended!
The room was dreary and had a musty smell.
The net curtains on the windows were a grey colour. the armchair had a white milk-like stain on it.
The door handle was coming loose with a sharp edge.
The window had black mildew at the edges.
The bathroom tap was broken
The toilet seat was broken and stained.
The light over the sink was cracked.
There were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling.

I said nothing to my wife about any of this and we headed into town for a few hours. Later we went to the bar. The bar is okay but needs a renovation.
I went to use the gents toilets at about 8.30 pm and I was met with the stench of urine. The place was absolutley filthy. There was tissues on the floor. Crisp packets on the floor and soggy bear mats around the sink. There was a puddle of urine under each urinal and the floor was stained from urine.
I looked at the cleaning schedule to find it was last cleaned at 07.30 am ( Approx 13 hours ago)
So I went to the reception to notify the staff. ( assuming it would be sorted)

I visited the toilets again at 10.20 pm to discover to my horror that the place was not cleaned. I went back to reception and asked for the manager. The night manager accompanied me to the toilets. His reaction said it all - He put his hand over his nose and mouth because of the smell.
He apoligised and said it would be cleaned straight away.

I went back to the bar to see the the barman go to the toilets with a spray and cloth from behind the bar to clean the toilets. - That was the last straw!

At 0800 am I checked out of the dump after complaining to the general manager . He did not charge for the nights stay in fairness but I would expect that.
We checked into the River Court Hotel in central Kilkenny - A spotless pleasure.
See the pics for yourself.
If you like living in smelly filth then go ahead! your choice. But what are the kitchens like?

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyrotten1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    191
    123
    84
    61
See reviews for
251
181
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wicklow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

Myself & my boyfriend stayed here for valentines. We loved everything about it, we wernt expecting anything much because of the price but we were very suprised!!!!
The food was gorgeous & the leisure center is brilliant! The rooms are modern & comfortable & the staff were lovely! it was noisy because there was a wedding on but that cant be helped & we didn't mind! It was just a short taxi ride away from the center. We really enjoyed the weekend & we would definitley stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amcnc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

My last break was Christmas and with all the pressure in work from this "recession" I decided to hell with it i need a break!! I stayed in a brennan hotel at christmas & had such a lovely experience i said i would try this one too. From the first time I called to make my booking right to when we checked out the staff were brilliant so friendly & professional. The leisure centre was lovely my daughter had a ball in the pool I had 1 meal included in the package and it was way more than I had expected absoutley delicious. My daughter was free of charge for B&B and she spent hours at the kids club (also free) which gave me time to chill and have a facial!! I hd such a great time in their other hotel at christmas I was unsure if this one would live up to my expections but although we only stayed 2 nights it surpassed all of them. I am not sure if we will afford the sun holiday this year but I can see a few more short breaks in my future and will def try the other hotels in this chain.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becskris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2008

Myself and my partner have just returned from a weekend in this Hotel. After reading a lot of the reviews I was worried that it was going to be way below average. When we checked in, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. No bad attitudes at all! The Restaurant staff were absolutely lovely, very efficient and the food was gorgeous. I asked about a vegetarian option as there was none on the menu and it was no problem, the chef made me up a lovely vegetable pasta. The leisure facility was great and very clean except for the showering area which could do with revamping. The bedroom was nice,clean enough,the only problem was the windows were quite old. Overall our stay was very enjoyable. We would go back again.

  • Liked — Food and Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Walkway to bedrooms,carpet quite old and showers in spa,need updating.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SiouxsieBecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meath
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

booked an autumn weekend which consisted of 2 night b&b & 1 evening meal for 350 euro per couple sharing. The evening meal was pre-prepared & same menu as debs in next room- nothing special also shared the dining room with scottish team of 50-loud. kept awake until 3am with music of debs- no room noise insulation & windows single glazed so noise was extreme outside due to smokers outside hotel doors. Small bedroom & small bathroom. Next morning spoke with reception as i was going to leave if there was another function scheduled for Sat nite. Sunday morning woken up by doors banging along the corridor at 6am & someone phoned our room at 8.30am by mistake. Also breakfast is finished serving at 10am
Not the ideal relaxing weekend i had in mind- perhaps would have been better off in a b&b

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank rf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
3.6 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
2.0 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
2.2 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.3 km away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel

Property: Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Address: Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,686 - ₹ 9,975
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3 star Newly Refurbished Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny your break begins from the moment you leave home. Set out on your journey stress free knowing that we are easily accessible, have ample free car parking on site and complimentary wifi. The Springhill Court Hotel in Kilkenny is one of the best known hotels and if it is Kilkenny hotels you are looking for then look no further! Once you have arrived in Kilkenny City you can begin to enjoy our superb hotel facilities which include Lavender Spa, Kupp Coffee Dock, Leisure Club, Image Hair Salon, Oscars Restaurant, popular Paddock Bar, new Children's Playground and Lenny Lion's Kids Club which operates during all school holidays. Friendly, efficient staff are at your disposal for the duration of your stay. We pride ourselves on our standards of service and customer care, many guests return time and again to soak up the genuine, friendly atmosphere that prevails at the Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure Hotel Kilkenny
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure And Spa Hotel
Springhill Court Kilkenny
Hotel Springhill Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing