We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Nicest place I have stayed in years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Nicest place I have stayed in years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I attended a 2 day conference in this hotel and stayed here last week and the comments from other attendees were that the staff never stopped smiling from our arrival to departure. the rooms are superb and the food fab. Overall I would really recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larrytheloungelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Larrytheloungelizard,

Thank you so much for shring your positive comments from your recent conference attendance here at The Newpark Hotel.

I’m delighted that you had such an enjoyable time during your stay and entire team here at The Newpark are proud to have ensured the success of such an important event.

I look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to The Newpark in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
Marilto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    524
    151
    72
    39
See reviews for
672
540
20
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Just returned from an overnight trip to the Newpark and we were very impressed. The room was spacious, clean and modern. We ate in the bar and the food was excellent as was breakfast the following day. The leisure facilities are very good, loved the infinity pool. The staff were so attentive and very friendly. Our waiter in the bar (I think his name was Thomas), was very good and brought everything we asked for promptly which is great when eating with a toddler! All in all a very enjoyable stay, would definitely return and recommend it for anyone visiting Kilkenny.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear MLDes,

Thank you for having taken the time to complete your review of the Newpark Hotel. I most certainly appreciate receiving all feedback which affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and services.

I’m delighted that you had such an enjoyable time during your stay and I have personally congratulated Thomas on the excellent service he provided you with, I know he is extremely proud to receive such great comments.

Again, I would like thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Newpark in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
Marilto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

this hotel was just okay. a little worn around the edges. the location is not that convenient to the city center, which was a bit of a hassle. the room was decent, but the windows in the room were not clean. the food at breakfast was satisfactory, but the dining room was not clean.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rasc0tt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Rascott65,

I would sincerely like to thank you for having taken the time to complete your review of the Newpark Hotel. I most certainly appreciate receiving all feedback which affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and services. I was extremely disappointed to read your comments relating to your experience here at The Newpark and I have reviewed each point with the respective department to ensure we resolve the issues for all future guests.

Again, I would like thank you for taking the time to share your experience and should you wish to discuss your experience in person please contact me directly on my personal details listed below.
I look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to The Newpark in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
Marilto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a very nice hotel that offers lots of amenities. It's located just outside of the city centre in a nice, quiet neighborhood. Getting to the city centre is easy and can be done by car within five minutes.

The lobby is large, welcoming and quite posh. The staff is quite nice, polite and very helpful. Parking is plentiful and free.

The hotel boasts three restaurants, all of which serve excellent food at very decent prices. The pub is also wonderful. Breakfast is a great buffet with lots to choose from.

This hotel is also the place that many locals turn to for their wedding receptions, so be prepared for lively weekends, especially in the pub, but hey ... it's Ireland!

Also on-site is a great full service spa, a full health center/gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, and an outdoor infinity jacuzzi that is just to die for. If you spend all day walking the streets of Kilkenny, the jacuzzi is where you head to relax.

The rooms are decent, clean and very comfortable. The curious thing was that the room didn't have a clock.

The other pleasant surprise was the wi-fi reception. Most hotels advertise high speed service which usually is anything but. However wi-fi here is not only free, but also very high speed and easy to connect to. This is a sprawling hotel and our room was in the very furthest end from the main lobby, but wi-fi reception was excellent even here.

The only con that we experienced here was that room service got our order wrong. When it was finally rectified, we asked the delivery man if he could bring us a bucket of ice. He promised a speedy return with our ice, accepted our tip and then never returned. Apparently ice machines for customers in hotels in Ireland is not customary. We found the same thing at other hotels.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel that comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeteedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Honolulu,

I would sincerely like to thank you for having taken the time to complete your review of the Newpark Hotel. I most certainly appreciate receiving all feedback which affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and services. I have shared and discussed your comments with the management team here at the hotel.

I would also like to assure you I have investigated the matter highlighted within your feedback to ensure there is no reoccurrence in the future and I would like to extend my apologies that the incident occurred.

Finally, I would thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Newpark in the near future. Please don’t hesitate in contacting me directly as I would be delighted to extend some of the Newpark renowned hospitality by personally overseeing your reservation.

Kind Regards

Mark Dunne
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this lovely hotel with fellow delegates to a conference. From the moment we checked in the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. My room was fabulous and spotless. Very comfortable and spacious and lovely view from the balcony. The staff dealt with the approx 400 Conference attendees in a professional and proficient manner. The meals were served with no delays and all food was delicious. The gala dinner, attended by over 300 guests, was a great success and a credit to the management and staff of this fine establishment. It is part of the "Fair Hotel" campaign which guarantees the right of all staff to union representation and fair pay and terms and conditions. An absolute credit to all involved. I will definitely be back. Thank you all.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Valora,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Newpark Hotel experience.

Myself and the entire team here at the Newpark are extremely proud to have exceeded your expectations over the course of your stay and we are delighted that the conference was such a success.

We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to The Newpark in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.5 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
1.7 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
3.7 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.3 km away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.7 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,298 - ₹ 12,503
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Booking.com so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing