We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Nicest place I have stayed in years”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I attended a 2 day conference in this hotel and stayed here last week and the comments from other attendees were that the staff never stopped smiling from our arrival to departure. the rooms are superb and the food fab. Overall I would really recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larrytheloungelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Larrytheloungelizard,

Thank you so much for shring your positive comments from your recent conference attendance here at The Newpark Hotel.

I’m delighted that you had such an enjoyable time during your stay and entire team here at The Newpark are proud to have ensured the success of such an important event.

I look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to The Newpark in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
Marilto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,738 - 1,742 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Just returned from an overnight trip to the Newpark and we were very impressed. The room was spacious, clean and modern. We ate in the bar and the food was excellent as was breakfast the following day. The leisure facilities are very good, loved the infinity pool. The staff were so attentive and very friendly. Our waiter in the bar (I think his name was Thomas), was very good and brought everything we asked for promptly which is great when eating with a toddler! All in all a very enjoyable stay, would definitely return and recommend it for anyone visiting Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear MLDes,

Thank you for having taken the time to complete your review of the Newpark Hotel. I most certainly appreciate receiving all feedback which affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and services.

I’m delighted that you had such an enjoyable time during your stay and I have personally congratulated Thomas on the excellent service he provided you with, I know he is extremely proud to receive such great comments.

Again, I would like thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Newpark in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
Marilto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

this hotel was just okay. a little worn around the edges. the location is not that convenient to the city center, which was a bit of a hassle. the room was decent, but the windows in the room were not clean. the food at breakfast was satisfactory, but the dining room was not clean.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rasc0tt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Rascott65,

I would sincerely like to thank you for having taken the time to complete your review of the Newpark Hotel. I most certainly appreciate receiving all feedback which affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and services. I was extremely disappointed to read your comments relating to your experience here at The Newpark and I have reviewed each point with the respective department to ensure we resolve the issues for all future guests.

Again, I would like thank you for taking the time to share your experience and should you wish to discuss your experience in person please contact me directly on my personal details listed below.
I look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to The Newpark in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
Marilto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a very nice hotel that offers lots of amenities. It's located just outside of the city centre in a nice, quiet neighborhood. Getting to the city centre is easy and can be done by car within five minutes.

The lobby is large, welcoming and quite posh. The staff is quite nice, polite and very helpful. Parking is plentiful and free.

The hotel boasts three restaurants, all of which serve excellent food at very decent prices. The pub is also wonderful. Breakfast is a great buffet with lots to choose from.

This hotel is also the place that many locals turn to for their wedding receptions, so be prepared for lively weekends, especially in the pub, but hey ... it's Ireland!

Also on-site is a great full service spa, a full health center/gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, and an outdoor infinity jacuzzi that is just to die for. If you spend all day walking the streets of Kilkenny, the jacuzzi is where you head to relax.

The rooms are decent, clean and very comfortable. The curious thing was that the room didn't have a clock.

The other pleasant surprise was the wi-fi reception. Most hotels advertise high speed service which usually is anything but. However wi-fi here is not only free, but also very high speed and easy to connect to. This is a sprawling hotel and our room was in the very furthest end from the main lobby, but wi-fi reception was excellent even here.

The only con that we experienced here was that room service got our order wrong. When it was finally rectified, we asked the delivery man if he could bring us a bucket of ice. He promised a speedy return with our ice, accepted our tip and then never returned. Apparently ice machines for customers in hotels in Ireland is not customary. We found the same thing at other hotels.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel that comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeteedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Honolulu,

I would sincerely like to thank you for having taken the time to complete your review of the Newpark Hotel. I most certainly appreciate receiving all feedback which affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and services. I have shared and discussed your comments with the management team here at the hotel.

I would also like to assure you I have investigated the matter highlighted within your feedback to ensure there is no reoccurrence in the future and I would like to extend my apologies that the incident occurred.

Finally, I would thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Newpark in the near future. Please don’t hesitate in contacting me directly as I would be delighted to extend some of the Newpark renowned hospitality by personally overseeing your reservation.

Kind Regards

Mark Dunne
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this lovely hotel with fellow delegates to a conference. From the moment we checked in the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. My room was fabulous and spotless. Very comfortable and spacious and lovely view from the balcony. The staff dealt with the approx 400 Conference attendees in a professional and proficient manner. The meals were served with no delays and all food was delicious. The gala dinner, attended by over 300 guests, was a great success and a credit to the management and staff of this fine establishment. It is part of the "Fair Hotel" campaign which guarantees the right of all staff to union representation and fair pay and terms and conditions. An absolute credit to all involved. I will definitely be back. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Valora,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Newpark Hotel experience.

Myself and the entire team here at the Newpark are extremely proud to have exceeded your expectations over the course of your stay and we are delighted that the conference was such a success.

We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to The Newpark in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.7 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
3.7 km away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
1.4 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
15.6 km away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,081 reviews
1.7 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: ₹ 6,001 - ₹ 16,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short stroll from the historic city of Kilkenny with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. Our hotel boasts 129 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, many rooms offer views over the luscious green gardens which extend onto the urban Fen walk, Newpark adventure trail, and wildlife farm all positioned within our 40 acres of peaceful parkland. Within each room category guests are provided with a multi-channel flat screen V, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water and complimentary WI-FI access. Scrumptious dining facilities await you in our fine dining Gulliver’s restaurant or choose from our casual dining options in the popular Scott’s Bar & Brasserie or our newly opened Terrace bar & outdoor restaurant. Step inside our Escape Health club and Aveda spa to unwind, take time out in the hands of our therapists or recharge your batteries in our 17m swimming pool, outdoor infinity pool or our relaxation and thermal suites. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing