We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay, highly recommend Newpark Hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay, highly recommend Newpark Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband & I stayed on St. Valentine's night , having stayed there also in November.On each visit we found everything was excellent,--warm welcome, spacious bedroom,wonderful Leisure Centre & Spa, delicious food for dinner, great choice of food, hot & cold for breakfast.Staff were well trained & friendly.We highly recommend Newpark Hotel& will stay there again when in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Dungloelass,

Thank you for your review of The Newpark hotel. I’m delighted you and your partner have had such a positive return stay. Our aim is to continually provide the very best in service and hospitality.

I look forward to welcoming you and your partner back The Newpark Hotel in the near future. Please don’t hesitate in contacting me directly as I would be delighted to extend some of The Newpark's renowned hospitality.

Kind Regards,
Mark Dunne
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    523
    151
    72
    39
See reviews for
672
539
20
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Room: booked a family room last minute via a hotel discount site and travelled down same day. As we were 2 adults + 2 children we got a room with a double & single bed + a roll away cotbed which was more than adequate for our 6 yr old and the bed wasn't squished in. Room appeared to be in the older section of rooms but was in perfect working order and very clean. Beds were very good.

Leisure Centre: we found it good but have been to better, but it fit the bill appropriately for us.

Restaurant: we were seated immediately. Everything on offer was of good quality and we were happy and full leaving!

Bar / Restaurant: we had dinner & drinks in the bar area. The food was very good and the staff were really nice. Enjoyed our meal immensely as kids were in kids club from 7 to 10pm!

Kids Club: Our kids counted the time down to get to it and then didn't want to leave. Enough said.

Hotel has added a small animal farm to the back of their property which our children loved. Also a small playground for young children in the back as well.

We will go back again as it's an ideal short break away and wouldn't hesitate recommending it to our friends especially those with young children (ideally under 10's I think).

Room Tip: If you're staying during school holidays I'd suggest asking for a room at the end of a corri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripswithKidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Babiestravelling,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent family holiday with us here at The Newpark Hotel.

I’m delighted you and your family had such an enjoyable experience and I appreciate your detailed feedback regarding our facilities on offer.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to The Newpark Hotel in the near future. Please don’t hesitate in contacting me directly as I would be delighted to extend some of The Newpark's renowned hospitality.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Spent a great few days in The Newpark Hotel Kilkenny. We arrived a bit early on the saturday but our room was not ready. A very friendly girl took our bags and called me on the mobile within 30 minutes to tell me the room was ready. We ate in the bar on one night and the restaurant the second and on both occasions the service and quality of the food was very good. The Leisure Centre was very good and the outdoor tub was fab! The hotel was really really busy but there was plenty of staff and managers about and the attention to detail was notable. There was even an Egg Hunt on Sunday morning!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear DaisyB19,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Easter holiday with us here at The Newpark Hotel.

I’m delighted you and your family had such a memorable experience and I have shared your comments with every member of the team here at The Newpark. Thank you also for sharing your comments in relation to our much anticipated Easter hunt on Easter Sunday morning and I hope your family enjoyed their chocolate eggs!

Again, my sincere thanks for taking the time in writing and we look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Newpark Hotel in the near future. Please don’t hesitate in contacting me directly as I would be delighted to extend some of The Newpark's renowned hospitality.

Kind regards,

Mark Dunne
mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just back from a weekend in the Newpark hotel Kilkenny and couldn't wait to get home.
The much anticipated 3 night family break in a four star hotel was very disappointing.
It was a busy bank holiday weekend and we where packed in like sardines with amatuer staff and poor service adding to the stress levels rather than lowering them.
The hotel couldn't accommodate the numbers in the restaurants with queues for breakfast times, evening meals and we even had to wait to get the kids into the small swimming pool.
With two young kids the walk into the city centre is too long and had to make do with the same poor bar menu in the same busy bar area for the three evenings as the restaurant couldn't accommodate our booking for a table of four? (2adults 2kids)
One TV in the bar/ bistro area on a busy sporting weekend with limited seating and the same awful one man band on both Saturday & Sunday evening entertainment for the adults finally tipped it for me!
I was looking forward to being asked "did you enjoy your stay" upon departure but the receptionist never enquired she just took the money (after two attempts to get the bill correct).
Well they won't be getting anymore of my money in future!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brightsparks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Brightsparks1,

Thank you for your review of your weekend stay with us here at The Newpark hotel. I most certainly appreciate all feedback be it positive or negative as it affords us the opportunity of reviewing and improving our hotel.

I appreciate that your family holiday is an extremely important time and should be enjoyable at all times. I’m disappointed that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and I assure you our goal for this Easter Bank holiday weekend was not only to meet your expectations but to exceed them.

I would welcome an opportunity to discuss your experience in greater detail at a time that is convenient to you and I have listed my contact details for your reference below. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne

Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Telephone: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I would highly recommend This Hotel Newpark Hotel. My Family and extended family all 18 of us stayed the long weekend in April. Enjoyable relaxing refreshing hotel, The staff were mainly Irish which was such a change, there was not one moment in the 4 day stay did we need to look for any staff member to assist with any of our needs. The bedrooms were very spacious,fresh & clean, The reception and lounge were decorated in warm friendly relaxing colour scheme, this added to our enjoyable stay as we have children in our group we spent the evening in the very large reception area . So recommending this hotel for families would be high on my list.
A big thank you to all the friendly staff through the whole hotel

Adrianne & Family

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriannep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Adriannep,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Newpark Hotel. Im delighted you and your entire family had such an enjoyable experience during your visit with us.

I have shared your comments with our entire team as I know they are extremely proud to have made you and your families stay such a memorable one.

Again, my sincere thanks for taking the time in writing and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please dont hesitate in contacting me directly as I would be delighted to extend some of the Newpark's renowned hospitality by personally overseeing your reservation.

Warm regards,

Mark Dunne
mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.5 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
1.7 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
3.7 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.3 km away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
1.7 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,296 - ₹ 12,498
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Booking.com so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing