We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A group of us stayed here when doing the Kilkenny triathlon. We are all a bit older than the usual hostel crowd but we just wanted somewhere to sleep / shower. Fergus stayed up until our arrival at 2am and was very welcoming. The rooms (4 person en suite) were fine as was the shower in the room and there were more showers / toilets outside the room. The hostel was spotlessly clean but there are two large dogs there and there is a doggy smell! Fergus let us take over the back yard to assemble and store our bikes. The folk who worked there were better than lovely and were welcoming and friendly. The hostel is just a tiny bit out of the town and you think its much further when you first arrive but then you realise its just 2 minutes from the main street. Great place, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    44
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
4
16
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I spent one evening in Kilkenny and I wish I had spent more at Mac Gabhainns! The staff were incredibly nice, attentive, and accommodating. They came out of the hostel and into the street to check where my friend and I parked to tell us if we would be ok or not. They gave of us the restaurant and music scene information we needed which allowed us to have a brilliant evening. Also, I mistakenly left my eye glasses behind and sure enough they held onto them and mailed them to the Dublin address that I was staying at! Purely amazing and very willing to go out of their way for their guests:)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Spent here one night during my solo trip through Ireland in Sep 2011. The hostel is located 5 mins from the downtown Kilkenny with all its pubs and shops and places of interest. It was quite easy to find (I walked from the bus station and followed info from the net). Bed was comfortable and there was an electrical outlet at my bed so it was easy to plugin a laptop. The room was ensuite and I enjoyed that managers paid attention to such details as an air freshener in the toilet room. Basic breakfast was included; tea and coffee available at any time; milk in refrigerator. There shower was great, no need to press button every 30 seconds. Wi-fi worked perfectly both in lobby and in my room. I've even got a map of Kilkenny. Thanks to manager Loraine, the owner Raymond and his nice dogs Tilda and Sonny! One of hostels that I liked most during my trips to Ireland.

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 75300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

Great owner. Cozy hostel. Great place to meet a lot of people. We all went out one night. Clean enough rooms. Glad we got the room with bathroom in it as those in dorms shared two bathrooms and there was a wait for them. No problems here.... Hot showers. Good pressure. Average beds for a hostel. At night it was noisy because it's next to a main road so had trouble sleeping, but not a problem for my husband who had a lot to drink

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennandPaul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The guys who run this place are some pretty sketchy fellows. One of the gentlemen on the staff, Fergus, tried to propostition my girlfriend to have sex with him when I was not there. Displeased, I asked the manager if he saw anything wrong with this, if he considered it to be unprofessional or if he thought it was socially acceptable for a member of staff- a host- to pressure a woman travelling alone in a foreign country to cheat. Unable to articulate an intelligible response, he tried to assault me, jabbed his finger in my face, forgot what he was going to say and told me to get out. A real gem.
If you are a woman and have any concerns about where to stay, please be safe, and find somewhere else to spend the night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glockpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
This review is total slander, we here at MacGabhainns are very polite and respectful of all our guests, this guy was very jealous and paraniod about his girlfriend talking with management and other guests over lunch. We actually got afraid of this individual and showed him the door and his girlfriend was totally apologetic for his actions. Regards MacGabhainns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
0.7 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.6 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,650 reviews
2.5 km away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
746 reviews
0.7 km away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Property: MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
Address: 24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny 0, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,093 - ₹ 3,753
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Information:Proudly voted best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011 Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel is a small hostel located in the heart of the city centre, just ten minutes' walk from Kilkenny Castle, close to the railway and bus station.We offer a comfortable and friendly atmosphere for weary travellers.We have lots of free facilities, such as free breakfast, parking, security lockers, internet access, Wi-Fi and even a free map of the city! Breakfast includes porridge, corn flakes, toast and tea or coffee; you can also have as much free tea and coffee as you want, all day long. We even wash your dishes for you!There's a cool barbecue area in our garden. We're also located near pubs with traditional Irish music and some fine restaurants that are quite inexpensive.We were voted the best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011, and one of the top hostels in Ireland. We were approved by the Irish Tourism Board in 2012 and are recommended by Lonely Planet, Routards and Let's Go.We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing