We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This was Home Sweet Home for me.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This was Home Sweet Home for me.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

I arrived here in the middle of March with a large group of my friends and I really enjoyed the experience.We had the kitchen to ourselves where we could really enjoy our evening meals.there was a cosy fire in the lounge area every evening.the hostel dogs were very friendly.the staff were totally amazing and helpful.We will come back again next year.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesboys77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    40
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
4
14
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leitrim, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Were in kilkenny for weekend, great place to stay clean, friendly and top class showers. Thanks to all at macgabhainns backpackers

Room Tip: Our room was Ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

On arrival to the hostel we were greeted by a guy who runs the hostel and he must have been hungover cause he couldn't handle a group of 9 people showing up at once, we have booked in 2 separate groups 4 in one room and 5 in another, he was annoyed that the 2 rooms were paying separate and he had not one bit of change for any of us. Only we took order and controlled the situation we would have been there all day. We also gladly paid the 100 euros "noise" deposit but looking back we should have known we wouldn't be getting it back.

The rooms are a nice size with en suites on the ones we stayed in, all very clean but no hot water, he only heats the water after 6pm which was a pain as we all wanted to shower.

We came back that night in separate groups, without warning at 4am we got told that enough was enough (no prior warnings to this) and he called the guards for "noise pollution", when we approached the owner to ask what we did wrong and apologise we were greeted with curses and abuse, he genuinely was so out of line and he is lucky we are a nice group and the guys held their anger back because no man should speak to a woman the way he did! when the guards came we were in bed asleep and they woke us and turned the lights on and warned us but it was obvious they were shocked and wondered why they had been called for such a quite bunch.

Needless to say we didnt get our noise deposit back but I think this is a money making scheme and we were never getting it back.

This hostel might be okay for a couple or a small group but if you are a large group do not stay here, they do not have the know how or experience to deal with people! I am still in shock with my experience of this guy, it was just awful!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariapvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

My friend and I have been on a short trip to Kilkenny just for one night, and we arrived to town without having booked any hostel. We knew about Mac Gabhainns from the Internet and we had a good impression about it - so we just walked in there.
The hostel was booked out, but we were offered to sleep in the tv room - we accepted and slept on the couch and a mattress which was arranged on the floor.
The hostel is small, colourful and cosy... we found the common areas (corridors, kitchen, bathrooms, tv-room) very clean - don't know about the rooms, as we haven't been in there!
The kitchen is very well equipped and offers free coffee and tea all day long. The breakfast selection wasn't very big, though (toast and marmelade, plain corn flakes, porridge).
Location is good, 7-10 mins walking from the city centre. Kilkenny is quite small!
Altogether we were satisfied with our stay there, because of the good atmosphere, the cleanliness and helpfulness of staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelda_Verona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

I stayed in MacGabhainns hostel for 3 days and i liked it there. They are a bit hard to find, about 15-20 minute walk from the bus station. The dorm room i stayed in was a bit chilly, but it was also an early spring, some temperature issues might be pardonable. Bed was comfy enough, the bathroom in the hallway clean and cozy (but also very cold!), but most of all i liked the kitchen - it was big, spacious, very well equipped and also generous - the breakfast materials were available all day long, instead of some cramped time period in the early early morning when any normal traveler would still like to sleep. For more comments please read my post at: http://sshiksa.blogspot.com/2009/05/they-killed-kenny.html

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragne_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 km away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.9 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
2.5 km away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.8 km away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Property: MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
Address: 24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny 0, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,106 - ₹ 4,285
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Information:Proudly voted best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011 Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel is a small hostel located in the heart of the city centre, just ten minutes' walk from Kilkenny Castle, close to the railway and bus station.We offer a comfortable and friendly atmosphere for weary travellers.We have lots of free facilities, such as free breakfast, parking, security lockers, internet access, Wi-Fi and even a free map of the city! Breakfast includes porridge, corn flakes, toast and tea or coffee; you can also have as much free tea and coffee as you want, all day long. We even wash your dishes for you!There's a cool barbecue area in our garden. We're also located near pubs with traditional Irish music and some fine restaurants that are quite inexpensive.We were voted the best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011, and one of the top hostels in Ireland. We were approved by the Irish Tourism Board in 2012 and are recommended by Lonely Planet, Routards and Let's Go.We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing