We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Were in kilkenny for weekend, great place to stay clean, friendly and top class showers. Thanks to all at macgabhainns backpackers

Room Tip: Our room was Ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2011

On arrival to the hostel we were greeted by a guy who runs the hostel and he must have been hungover cause he couldn't handle a group of 9 people showing up at once, we have booked in 2 separate groups 4 in one room and 5 in another, he was annoyed that the 2 rooms were paying separate and he had not one bit of change for any of us. Only we took order and controlled the situation we would have been there all day. We also gladly paid the 100 euros "noise" deposit but looking back we should have known we wouldn't be getting it back.

The rooms are a nice size with en suites on the ones we stayed in, all very clean but no hot water, he only heats the water after 6pm which was a pain as we all wanted to shower.

We came back that night in separate groups, without warning at 4am we got told that enough was enough (no prior warnings to this) and he called the guards for "noise pollution", when we approached the owner to ask what we did wrong and apologise we were greeted with curses and abuse, he genuinely was so out of line and he is lucky we are a nice group and the guys held their anger back because no man should speak to a woman the way he did! when the guards came we were in bed asleep and they woke us and turned the lights on and warned us but it was obvious they were shocked and wondered why they had been called for such a quite bunch.

Needless to say we didnt get our noise deposit back but I think this is a money making scheme and we were never getting it back.

This hostel might be okay for a couple or a small group but if you are a large group do not stay here, they do not have the know how or experience to deal with people! I am still in shock with my experience of this guy, it was just awful!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariapvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

My friend and I have been on a short trip to Kilkenny just for one night, and we arrived to town without having booked any hostel. We knew about Mac Gabhainns from the Internet and we had a good impression about it - so we just walked in there.
The hostel was booked out, but we were offered to sleep in the tv room - we accepted and slept on the couch and a mattress which was arranged on the floor.
The hostel is small, colourful and cosy... we found the common areas (corridors, kitchen, bathrooms, tv-room) very clean - don't know about the rooms, as we haven't been in there!
The kitchen is very well equipped and offers free coffee and tea all day long. The breakfast selection wasn't very big, though (toast and marmelade, plain corn flakes, porridge).
Location is good, 7-10 mins walking from the city centre. Kilkenny is quite small!
Altogether we were satisfied with our stay there, because of the good atmosphere, the cleanliness and helpfulness of staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zelda_Verona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I stayed in MacGabhainns hostel for 3 days and i liked it there. They are a bit hard to find, about 15-20 minute walk from the bus station. The dorm room i stayed in was a bit chilly, but it was also an early spring, some temperature issues might be pardonable. Bed was comfy enough, the bathroom in the hallway clean and cozy (but also very cold!), but most of all i liked the kitchen - it was big, spacious, very well equipped and also generous - the breakfast materials were available all day long, instead of some cramped time period in the early early morning when any normal traveler would still like to sleep. For more comments please read my post at: http://sshiksa.blogspot.com/2009/05/they-killed-kenny.html

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragne_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Stayed here with a group of my girlfriends for a weekend, great value for money as there was free cereal, toast, tea, coffee, milk, butter which sorted most of us out for breakfast. my one very big complaint was an absence of hot water for everyone to have a shower. the electic shower in room 2 en-suite had zero water pressure, and the room had a fair amount of mould for which we were offered no discount on the room rate! i appreciate they may be just renovating/starting out but basic hot water should be readily available!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.5 km away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
781 reviews
0.9 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,826 reviews
0.7 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
813 reviews
1.0 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,977 reviews
0.2 km away
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
#3 of 23 in Kilkenny
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Address: 24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range: ₹ 1,075 - ₹ 4,913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Information:Proudly voted best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011 Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel is a small hostel located in the heart of the city centre, just ten minutes' walk from Kilkenny Castle, close to the railway and bus station.We offer a comfortable and friendly atmosphere for weary travellers.We have lots of free facilities, such as free breakfast, parking, security lockers, internet access, Wi-Fi and even a free map of the city! Breakfast includes porridge, corn flakes, toast and tea or coffee; you can also have as much free tea and coffee as you want, all day long. We even wash your dishes for you!There's a cool barbecue area in our garden. We're also located near pubs with traditional Irish music and some fine restaurants that are quite inexpensive.We were voted the best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011, and one of the top hostels in Ireland. We were approved by the Irish Tourism Board in 2012 and are recommended by Lonely Planet, Routards and Let's Go.We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing