We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cold!”
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Ive stayed in Scotts before and loved it but this time it was very disappointing. We arrived about 3pm on 27 Dec 12 and the room was freezing. I went to reception and was told they would sort it so we left and returned in about an hour and the room was still freezing. I again complained ( I never complain!), got no apology just a promise to sort it. I told them ring me when room was warm. This they did about an hour later but to be honest the room never really heated as I guess the heating had been off too long after Christmas break. The heating should have been on before I ever arrived. The tv was also broken but I only told them that at check out as we werent interested in tv. I emailed the hotel a few days later but got no reply and I also commented on their fb page but this was deleted. That is no way to deal with a complaint. That is why I am now writing this on Trip Advisor

Room Tip: Make sure room is heated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scootermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

831 - 835 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Scotts was difficult to find, but it turned out to be in great location Parking was included in the garage, but we did not need our car to go to the restaurants, stores and pubs in Killarney.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank shelllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed here last night for New Years Eve and had a great time. Stayed with my boyfriend and another couple. Lovely hotel. Nicely decorated, cosy atmosphere. Room was very nice, spacious and spotless. Ate in the bar and food was very tasty, good service. Very centrally located, within walking distance of everything. We tried a few other bars around, but came back to the bar in Scotts at about 10pm and stayed there as it was actually the best out of all the bars we'd been to. Rang in the new year there, and stayed up drinking in the residents bar til about 3am. We got breakfast delivered to the room this morning. It was cold, but we didn't really mind as with the day that was in it we knew they were probably extremely busy with room service. All in all enjoyed our stay here. Price was very reasonable and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Any time I go to Killarney I stay at this hotel, After staying in many differnet Hotels in Killarney i Finally got it right. The staff are so Friendly can not do enough for you. Great facilities and so central. Cant wait to go back again, Plus we were upgaded to a suite the last time we stayed there so they also look after there regular customers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss23_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We usually stay with family nearby but on this trip we stayed in a deluxe suite at Scotts in Killarney as did two friends who took a family room. Reception staff were excellent, very welcoming and across all the details of our booking (we had been upgraded!!). The room was enormous and the bed vast and comfortable. Very minor niggles, the shower was a little cold and the pressure wasn't great, breakfast in the room was a little dry and overall, the place possibly needs a bit of TLC but overall, a super stay. The bar next door is excellent and the residents bar is very accommodating and stays open late. Being in the middle of town you'd expect noise but with the windows shut, we only heard the rally cars, but I doubt anything would have blocked that roar as they tore around town! Excellent value for money, great location, top notch staff, would definitely recommend if you are heading to Kerry. A great base to explore the town.

Room Tip: Be cheeky, ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caveyavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 km away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,500 reviews
0.1 km away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#11 of 38 in Killarney
240 reviews
0.3 km away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
0.2 km away
International Hotel Killarney
1.1 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: ₹ 6,676 - ₹ 12,200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotts Hotel Killarney is a traditional four star family-run hotel situated in the heart of Killarney town centre in Kerry and is on the doorstep of the Ring of Kerry. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, an airy Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing