We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Shady Side, MD
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Scotts was difficult to find, but it turned out to be in great location Parking was included in the garage, but we did not need our car to go to the restaurants, stores and pubs in Killarney.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank shelllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    315
    129
    62
    38
See reviews for
155
428
40
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed here last night for New Years Eve and had a great time. Stayed with my boyfriend and another couple. Lovely hotel. Nicely decorated, cosy atmosphere. Room was very nice, spacious and spotless. Ate in the bar and food was very tasty, good service. Very centrally located, within walking distance of everything. We tried a few other bars around, but came back to the bar in Scotts at about 10pm and stayed there as it was actually the best out of all the bars we'd been to. Rang in the new year there, and stayed up drinking in the residents bar til about 3am. We got breakfast delivered to the room this morning. It was cold, but we didn't really mind as with the day that was in it we knew they were probably extremely busy with room service. All in all enjoyed our stay here. Price was very reasonable and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Any time I go to Killarney I stay at this hotel, After staying in many differnet Hotels in Killarney i Finally got it right. The staff are so Friendly can not do enough for you. Great facilities and so central. Cant wait to go back again, Plus we were upgaded to a suite the last time we stayed there so they also look after there regular customers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss23_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We usually stay with family nearby but on this trip we stayed in a deluxe suite at Scotts in Killarney as did two friends who took a family room. Reception staff were excellent, very welcoming and across all the details of our booking (we had been upgraded!!). The room was enormous and the bed vast and comfortable. Very minor niggles, the shower was a little cold and the pressure wasn't great, breakfast in the room was a little dry and overall, the place possibly needs a bit of TLC but overall, a super stay. The bar next door is excellent and the residents bar is very accommodating and stays open late. Being in the middle of town you'd expect noise but with the windows shut, we only heard the rally cars, but I doubt anything would have blocked that roar as they tore around town! Excellent value for money, great location, top notch staff, would definitely recommend if you are heading to Kerry. A great base to explore the town.

Room Tip: Be cheeky, ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caveyavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I stayed at Scotts for a night with my hubby and 11 month old son. From the moment we arrived we were made feel so welcome by the receptionist (Annette I think?). On entering the room it was possibly the nicest one we have had. In fact it was a suite with a large living area and a kitchen with microwave. This was brilliant for heating up baby's food and he had loads of room for play and loved looking out at the lights of killarney. We were going to have dinner int he bar but as it was Saturday night there were people out early and as we were leaving the waitress offered us the bar menu in the restaurant as it was quiet. This was godsent as we were on a budget and didnt want to bring baby into a bar with noise etc! Our meal was absolutely lovely and again staff were great. We went off to bed and could put our son into the room in his cot while we chilled in the living area with a glass of wine. We were apprehensive about it being in the middle of town but noise was not an issue. We have been away a few times since baby was born and this was by far the best hotel we have stayed in. breakfast was lovely and just a short stroll down to the outlet shops after. Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Cant wait to go back... :)

Room Tip: The suite is a little extra but definitely worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlaclare79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 km away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
717 reviews
1.1 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#25 of 38 in Killarney
1,256 reviews
0.1 km away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#13 of 38 in Killarney
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,480 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
900 reviews
0.2 km away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Property: Scotts Hotel
Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,134 - ₹ 15,169
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotts Hotel Killarney is a traditional family-run hotel situated in the heart of Killarney town centre in Kerry and is on the doorstep of the Ring of Kerry. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, an airy Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing