We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gleneagle Hotel(Killarney)
US$ 160
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 142
US$ 136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brehon(Killarney)
US$ 190
US$ 184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 267
US$ 204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lake Hotel(Killarney)
US$ 193
US$ 187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 496
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
328
44
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
44
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade sconesher husbandgreat locationa quiet residential areasmall refrigeratorminute walksatellite tvwithin walking distance to townsingle roomring of kerryporridgekillarney centerperfect place to stayroom was large and comfortablefront of the housewonderful hostsoff street parking
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

I booked into algret house for one night in Killarney. I couldn't fault it. The breakfast was lovely the next day and was included. I would recommend it to anybody. Very close to town, within walking distance of pubs and restaurants.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Algret House B&B was the very first B&B I ever stayed in while visiting Ireland in 2011. Call it beginner’s luck, but the visit was so wonderful, that I have been back to Ireland every year since and have made sure to include Algret House in our itinerary each time. This year, in 2017, we actually drove out of our way to visit Greta and Alf Doyle, so we could chat and catch up like old friends, and stay at their lovingly cared-for B&B. And... say hello from all the other traveling companions who stayed with me at Algret House in the past 6 years and specifically told me to “say hello to Greta for me.”
To know Greta Doyle is to love Greta Doyle. She is warm, ever affable and has an infectious sense of humor.
Once we arrived this year, we regretted booking only 1 night for our stay. Algret House feels like the very best aspects of home. It makes you want to relax, take a deep breath and stay awhile...
And it’s a quick hop to Muckross House & Gardens, Ross Castle and other delights in Killarney National Park, so how can you go wrong?
Algret House is immaculate, spotless, situated in a quiet neighborhood only a short, safe walk into town, and has the absolute best porridge in all of Ireland. (And I’ve eaten porridge in many, many, many Irish B&B’s.)
This year we had a Queen Size bed and a Twin bed in the Twin Room we booked. The room was cozy, with comfortable beds, the shower had good water pressure and plenty of hot water - and the entire B&B felt very peaceful.
Greta and Alf take wonderful and meticulous care of their B&B and even at the end of their 2017 season, everything was still sparklingly clean. And breakfast is always great.
If you’re heading to Killarney, do yourself a favor and book a room at Algret House. Greta is worth her weight in gold - and if you’re lucky, maybe you’ll get to meet Alf, the “quiet man in the kitchen” - who is absolutely hilarious once you get him talking.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank innerfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Wow !! what a nice quaint property, warm & cozy rooms, hearty breakfast and so much warmth & care by Greta and her husband. Extremely clean rooms with rich decor, breakfast made & served with love and what a spread. Don't forget those delicious scones by Greta !! Property is near to the town center, about 10 mins walk, in a nice peaceful residential locality. There's a pizza place (Four Pizza) nearby and many nice eating joints within a 15 mins walking radius. Deros tour office is at a 10 mins walking distance.
Our stay at Killarney was quite eventful, the day we were supposed to travel to our next destination, Hurricane Ophelia hit and everything was closed. We had to stay back for one more night in Killarney. Greta and her husband were scheduled to travel to Cork, so they arranged alternate accommodation for us and also drove us to the new B&B. They kept us updated about the weather condition and options throughout this period. Can't thank them enough for their support and hospitality.

Room Tip: Ground floor triple room was great with a large window overlooking the front lawn
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyanka2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We stayed at Algret House for one evening, but I wish I had a week there. Greta is a lovely hostess who has created a welcoming atmosphere at Algret House. The room was spotless and comfortable (including the bathroom), and the breakfast was delicious - especially the fresh baked scones! We would stay there again and we recommend you do, too!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We just love this B&B. Greta and her husband are absolutely wonderful hosts. The fresh baked scones are to die for. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Less than a 10 minute walk into town for dining and shopping. We stayed for 2 days and felt like we stayed with friends. This is a perfect place to stay for exploring Kerry. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews