We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home in a beautiful place!”
other travellers have booked this property
Scartlea House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Scartlea House
Welcome to your new home from home - come on in! Spacious and Elegant Entrance Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Scartlea House
Welcome to your new home from home - come on in!
Spacious and Elegant Entrance Hall
Living Room with TV/Wii/DVD and Gas Stove
Open Plan Hall from Kitchen to Living Room
Kitchen/Dining Room with 7 Ring Hob, 3 Ovens and Large Reclaimed  Wooden Table overlooking gardens
Evening Sitting Room with Cinema Screen, Surround Sound and Home Theatre
Master Bedroom with Super King Bed, TV and Mountain Views. Ensuite with Spa Bath and Walk in Shower
Beautiful High ceilings and tons of storage in Master
Ensuite bathroom with double spa bath and separate walk in shower
Super King room with mountain views
Double and Single in a beautiful room overlooking gardens
Downstairs bedroom with King Bed, Tv, facing garden
Twin Room overlooking Garden
Established Private Back Garden with Swing/Slide Set, Bonfire Pit etc.
View of Garden from Dining Table and Kitchen
Sheltered Patio with outdoor loudspeakers, heaters and large gas Barbeque
Vibrant colour all year round
View of Killarney town
Around the Town
Muckross Abbey - 2 mins from the house
View of lake from the Abbey
Bluebell Woods also 2 mins from us
National Park - 2 mins from us
Muckross House- 5 mins
Torc Waterfall - 5 mins
Knockreer - 10 mins from us
Ross Castle from cycle/walking path
Curious Locals
Peace on the lakes at Ross Pennisula - 10 mins
Winter View from Ross Castle
The Meeting of The Waters
The Golden Gates  and Cherry Avenue at Killarney House - 10 mins from us
Beaufort Golf Club
A visitor at Killarney Golf & Fishing Club
Loch Lein and the Reeks
Hiking in the Gap of Dunloe
Riding on Rossbeigh Beach
Ballinskelligs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Killarney, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RachaelBe...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful home in a beautiful place!”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We visited as a group of friends for a long weekend. I am already telling everyone I know about this place as it really is beautiful. It really does need to be seen to be fully appreciated. The house has a very welcoming feel as soon as you walk through the door. The decor was amazing and the attention to detail impressive. Each room had a lovely feel and was perfectly fit for purpose, big open kitchen great for gathering, immaculately presented living areas for chilling out and beautiful comfortable bedrooms. The house is in a perfect location for exploring the sights of Killarney (if you can drag yourself away from the comfort of the house) I loved the little details, picnic bag in the cupboards, I can imagine this being a great idea in the summer (packing up and exploring the sights.) Fresh scones on arrival, children's toys tucked away in the cupboards for entertaining little ones and enough dvds to entertain on a rainy day with the huge projector in the living room. I can't wait to come back to Scartlea with my family possibly in the summer when we can make the most of the play area and the beautiful grounds. Thank you for your hospitality :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time in Scartlea House and look forward to welcoming you and your family back another time. It is always lovely to have others appreciate and care for the house so well - my housekeeper says it was left almost as clean as when you arrived!

I must advise you to book soon to avoid disappointment if you want to come again this summer as we are filling up quickly!! We'd love to show you what the house and Killarney can offer you in another season!

Thanks again
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow Just Wow!”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have just returned after travelling as 4 couples to Scartlea House. We have had an amazing weekend with the house being an absolute highlight, think MTV cribs & your there! Everything was just perfect, very modern with amazing technology throughout but don't worry everything has been thought of with a handy guide for ease of use for every appliance! Beautifully decorated, really comfy beds & a whirlpool bath to use! Heaven, just heaven! Having arrived at night time it really was beautiful to wake up to the fabulous garden & views, such a shame it was too cold to enjoy it but having two children I know that if we could return in the summer they could be exploring & playing easily all day. The house is situated in a great spot for exploring Killarney national park or indeed a walk around town. A truely fabulous house, the pictures really don't do it justice, if living like the rich & famous is for you then definatly book this home. Simply stunning, oh & the homemade scones & jam were a lovely touch on our arrival. Thanks Fiona for letting us enjoy your home.x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Thank you so much Kelly, for the wonderful review and for leaving the house so well - it is a pleasure for us to hear that our home is loved by others as much as by us. Glad you think it is worthy of MTV Cribs! We did make a huge effort on the decor and furnishings so it is lovely that these are so appreciated. We would love to have you and your children back another time - the house is the perfect getaway for all age groups and I am sure your kids would love it! See you next time! Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C
1 review
“Amazing House in an Amazing Location”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Visited Scartlea House the weekend of Feb 27 to 2nd March 15. House is absolutely fantastic, top of the range interior, equipment & gorgeous decor. Couldn't believe how big it was including its picturesque grounds. I stayed with 3 other couples and the house was big enough to have privacy but also had a real homely feel. We all congregated around the kitchen area which over looks the garden, fantastic space to entertain. Bedrooms were spacious and well decorated. The house was also immaculately clean, bathrooms were spotless. There is a lovely pub about 5 minutes drive which does fantastic food. Killarney has loads of great pubs & eating places and the mountains, waterfalls etc are only a short drive away. I would definitely come back to this house/place again. We had an amazing time.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Thank you for your fab review - we always love hearing how well the house suits different groups and how relaxing and convivial the house is for larger groups in particular. I can imagine you all sitting around the kitchen in the evening, cooking, chatting and having a relaxing glass of wine after your adventures around our beautiful Killarney. Do come back - Scartlea House will welcome you with open arms anytime! Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krisatkin...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunningly Gorgeous”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed here with a group a of eight friends this weekend and were absolutely blown away by the stunning house and grounds. We were very impressed with the pre trip information sent by Fiona. Fiona had considered everything, including location of the logs for the fire pit, use of the bikes, even fresh scones and jam on arrival. Unfortunately, the weather didn't allow the use of the fire pit or bikes but the scones were delicious mmm. We are already talking about a return trip and some of our friends have discussed returning during the summer with their families. Scartlea House is the ideal holiday let for friends or families and we will be back, Kris & Neil (Kelly's Friends)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living areas of the house all accomodated our large group with ease
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for the wonderful review - we are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time in Scartlea House and look forward to welcoming you all back another time when you can experience both the house and the area in another season.
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cat21oc
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WOW, JUST WOW!!!”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A group of friends stayed in this house last weekend. You simply cannot imagine this spectacular home. EVERYTHING is fantastic, its easy to book, easy to find and easy to want to stay there forever! The house easily accomodated all of us and we were all extremely happy with the place. Its a home and you feel like youre at home staying here. The gardens are fab and the decor is amazing. The beds are extremely comfortable, the house is warm and so so comfortable throughout.
Theres free wifi throughout, a cinema/projector in the main sitting room that is very user friendly. the kitchen is amazing, plenty of plates, cups, glasses etc.
We cannot wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
We are Wowed by your great review! - thank you. It is so nice for us to hear how much our guests appreciate our home and seem to love it as much as we do....we hope to welcome you back again soon - the house enjoys having such respectful and happy guests looking after it and we are so pleased to be able to make your holiday special. Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;