We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel, beautiful rooms, definitely come back”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“5 star hotel, beautiful rooms, definitely come back”
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Really beautiful building, very nice food in bar, I had chicken wings with blue cheese and fishermans pie, only let down was I wasnt asked i wanted coffee or dessert, which I did, but I have a little rule that if I'm not asked I dont go looking. Same with breakfast, really nice spread with tasty hot food including pancakes but no one came to me about coffee or tea. I bought coffee up the street. Anyway free wifi all over building is brilliant as is free water in rooms. Hot showers. I'll go back

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,665
    403
    101
    31
    23
See reviews for
417
1,179
34
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed for 1 night for an event in the INEC. Upgraded to a superior room very happy with that. excellant rooms, clean spacious.
Bar food was of great quality,
Pool clean,
An lovely hotel. Hopefully will be back,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennygrCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on a mid-week break in January with my folks, husband and baby. On arrival, we were upgraded to executive rooms (with compliments of the hotel) and felt very welcome by all the staff from check-in to check-out

Our rooms were spacious, pristine, with amazing bathrooms and great views through two large windows with sweeping heavily lined curtains. Pool/spa area fab and spotless throughout

Breakfast was good and plentiful and we had afternoon coffee with cookies in the lobby one afternoon.... setting lovely with lighting fires, newspapers and comfy sofas!

The only negative... the restaurant was closed both nights (understandably being mid-week in January) so we dined in the bar on the restaurant menu which all four of us struggled with... thought it could offer more choice. However, we will surely return to the Brehon Hotel in the future

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuttiFruitiCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have just returned from a well deserved break in the Brehon. The room was fabulous and definately spacious as some of the trip advisor comments had suggested. The Spa was very relaxing and the staff throughout the hotel were courteous and friendly. The breakfast has to have been the highlight of our stay! So beautifully presented especially the mixed berries and yoghurt, the best i have ever tasted in any hotel and the first tme ive seen them presented for breakfast but definately something to try. We didnt eat much the first morning because we had planned to climb Carrantouhill but i couldnt wait for the next one. I ate as much as i could and their was always plenty to go around. The staff and the breakfast room really made this one to remember. Thank you all for an amazing stay, what a great hotel, you have done yourselves proud!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Brehon is exquisite! The foyer is spacious, grand and comfortable and makes an impressive first impression that's reinforced by the rest of the hotel. Our room was very roomy, bed was difficult to get out of it was so comfy! The staff were exceedingly courteous but grounded, with no airs and graces. Jessica in particular was a dote - always smiling, friendly and ready to help.
I was a tad worried at first as our room was in the general vicinity of the lifts, but we could hear no noise from the corridor, such is the quality of the sound proofing. The black-out curtains are great too! The only little thing that I wasn't too gone on were the shower gels etc in the bathroom - I wasn't too gone on how they smelled,but that's down to personal taste I guess.
Breakfast was a joy, think I packed on a few pounds in the few days there. Lovely silver service and teapots too!
We had dinner there on our last night, which was also our first wedding anniversary - the desserts came out with 'Happy Anniversay' written on the plates in chocolate, and we were given a complimentary glass of prosecco too by way of congratulations - a lovely touch! (Not to mention the card that greeted us on arrival wishing us a happy anniversary and a comfortable stay :-) ) The dinner was sumptious.
I treated myself to a facial in the Angsana spa and it was lovely. The therapists are Thai and Apple, my therapist, had hands like silk. The thermal suite itself was lovely - no kids are allowed so it's nice and relaxing. The pool is only a bathing pool, but sure you wouldn't want to be doing lengths when on a relaxing weekend away! The sauna was the most spacious I've ever been in. Staff there were lovely too. The only thing missing was a little blanket in the relaxation room as my legs got cold from the knee down.
We were there for the Easter weekend, and no doubt the hotel was full, but it never felt or seemed busy. It was always relaxing.
We were able to rent bikes from the hotel too for €10 each a day, saved us trapsing around.
I liked that it was slightly out of town as it was so peacful, and it's within easy walking distance to the town.
It is a truly beautiful, impressive hotel, both structurally, service and staff-wise. It is of five star quality but at a more affordable price.
I would return to the Brehon in a heartbeat, and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie_eile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,224 reviews
5.2 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2.5 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,329 reviews
1.5 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,179 reviews
1.3 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,666 - ₹ 20,221
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing