We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Brehon is exquisite! The foyer is spacious, grand and comfortable and makes an impressive first impression that's reinforced by the rest of the hotel. Our room was very roomy, bed was difficult to get out of it was so comfy! The staff were exceedingly courteous but grounded, with no airs and graces. Jessica in particular was a dote - always smiling, friendly and ready to help.
I was a tad worried at first as our room was in the general vicinity of the lifts, but we could hear no noise from the corridor, such is the quality of the sound proofing. The black-out curtains are great too! The only little thing that I wasn't too gone on were the shower gels etc in the bathroom - I wasn't too gone on how they smelled,but that's down to personal taste I guess.
Breakfast was a joy, think I packed on a few pounds in the few days there. Lovely silver service and teapots too!
We had dinner there on our last night, which was also our first wedding anniversary - the desserts came out with 'Happy Anniversay' written on the plates in chocolate, and we were given a complimentary glass of prosecco too by way of congratulations - a lovely touch! (Not to mention the card that greeted us on arrival wishing us a happy anniversary and a comfortable stay :-) ) The dinner was sumptious.
I treated myself to a facial in the Angsana spa and it was lovely. The therapists are Thai and Apple, my therapist, had hands like silk. The thermal suite itself was lovely - no kids are allowed so it's nice and relaxing. The pool is only a bathing pool, but sure you wouldn't want to be doing lengths when on a relaxing weekend away! The sauna was the most spacious I've ever been in. Staff there were lovely too. The only thing missing was a little blanket in the relaxation room as my legs got cold from the knee down.
We were there for the Easter weekend, and no doubt the hotel was full, but it never felt or seemed busy. It was always relaxing.
We were able to rent bikes from the hotel too for €10 each a day, saved us trapsing around.
I liked that it was slightly out of town as it was so peacful, and it's within easy walking distance to the town.
It is a truly beautiful, impressive hotel, both structurally, service and staff-wise. It is of five star quality but at a more affordable price.
I would return to the Brehon in a heartbeat, and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie_eile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,261)
There are newer reviews for The Brehon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,816 - 1,820 of 2,261 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We got a very good package including dinner for Sunday April 15th. The dinner was served in the bar as the restaurant was closed but the food was, as usual, brilliant.
I love the Vitality Suite in the spa - the pool is small but nice and the jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and salt room are great.
The spa treatments are a bit pricey so didn't have anything this visit - next time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phylliso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for two nights over the Easter break in a 'standard' room which was anything but standard. The hotel is also a spa resort and it has a real upmarket feel. I didn't use the spa facilities so cannot comment on that.
Our room was very large with windows on two sides both of which had stunning views of the nearby mountains. The bed was large and very comfortable, the heating/aircon worked very well, crucially for me it was quiet at night. The bathroom was large and well equipped, even a makeup mirror - not that common in Ireland - although for me at least (above average height) it was a little on the low side. Great shower and quality toiletries.
Breakfast was buffet and plentiful even when you arrive close to the time limit - and I noticed a couple of latecomers who were looked after without any comment.
We dined in the restaurant on one evening and the bar on the other. Both were good experiences and the restaurant is really first rate with a great wine list and knowledgeable staff.
The hotel is about a ten/fifteen minute straight - and flat - walk into town. The carpark is large. Needless to say the surrounding countryside is fabulous and the famous Ring of Kerry is just a couple of minutes down the road. The hotel is not cheap but if you want a couple of days' pampering - go for it!

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel offer the best views of the mountains.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bloobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Called to this Restaurant approx 6 years ago , we left with a very nasty experience, the food
was very poor and tasteless and we were charged 176 euros for this for 2 people.
Two weeks ago we plucked up the courage to try again , the service was brillant , the food was
excellent , this time the bread was fresh , soup was beautiful and the main meal was to die for
the dessert was yummy and the coffee was very good quality , this was a huge turnaround
from the service that we received 6 years ago .
What made it special was the lovely Lady who served us , she could not do more for us , an asset to the Hotel.Well done .
Now we will go back to the restaurant when in Killarney and eat there , hopefully the standard will stay high .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagnaCruz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We were two friends on a road trip in Ireland and we found this hotel on a webpage. It was easy to find and close to the main road. Even if it was close to the road, the traffic was not disturbing in any way. The hotel had free parking and plenty of spaces. This was important for us so we did not have to spend time looking for parking. The hotel is located a few minutes out of Killarney city - in a very nice countryside area.

We were warmly greeted and the staff was very helpful and service minded. We were very lucky and got a really spacious room with a lovely view of the area. The room it self was big and with a desk and additional chairs and a little table. The bed was big and comfortable. The room was nicely decorated in a classical and at the same time modern style. Our room had a in-house safe and bathrobe and slippers.

The bathroom was big and had very nice towels and amenities.

The breakfast was delicious and the staff very helpful. They provided excellent service and we enjoyed breakfast. The public areas were nice and stylish.

The webpage informed us that The Brehon is a five star establishment. To be honest I am not sure if i will really call it a five star. Maybe for us it was a very nice four star hotel. We were very happy with our stay at the Brehon and can recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReiseKurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,305 reviews
5.2 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2.5 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,356 reviews
1.3 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,429 reviews
1.4 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: ₹ 8,786 - ₹ 18,547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing