We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Limerick
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent, from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I stayed in The Brehon for a weekend recently. From the moment we got out of the car until we got back into it, we could only say that we had a 5 star experience. The staff were excellent, the food was excellent, the room was excellent, the Vitality Suite was excellent. What more can I say, but we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimerickGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,580
    379
    95
    28
    19
See reviews for
381
1,112
32
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanturk, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We were attending a wedding in The Brehon Hotel and as we were just shortly off a long haul flight I requested a quiet room. We had a room at the top of the hotel and it was so quiet we had a great nights sleep. I was impressed with the attention to detail for example - in the lift they have the weather forecast for the day and the news headlines. I had a swim in the pool and it was very relaxing. We had an excellent meal for the wedding, and the following day what I really loved was their seafood chowder - it was the best chowder that I have ever eaten so if you are in Killarney call in for that!
By the way, we went for a fabulous walk in the Killarney National Park and the deer were very close to us - stunning!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tslips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
322 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My partner recently booked The Brehon as a surprise to celebrate our anniversary. I thought it was quite a lovely personal touch to receive a card from the hotel on arrival. The room itself was clean, spacious & modern. The bathroom was the same, as well as separate bath and shower. Room had a lovely view overlooking the gardens. We used the spa facilities and I have to say it we really enjoyed it as it was clean and well kept. Large pool with hot & cold jacuzzi's, sauna was fab too. Wish we could have spent more time in fact. Had drinks at the bar and a very pleasant gentleman served us. Nice relaxing atmosphere. Would absolutely recommend staying here if you enjoy a bit of a pamper!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelVentures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Attended a friend’s wedding in the Brehon Hotel, was going to book a B&B close to the hotel but enquired about the price of B&B for the night and it was alot cheaper than I expected.
The Hotel is super clean and tidy. The room, which is about a standard hotel room size but only 1 double bed, gives the room a much more spacious feel to it. It has everything you want and decorated beautifully.
The staff were most friendly and helpful. The food was 2nd to none, there was no one at our table that didn't love it. Bar staff were plentiful and helpful.
But the best thing about the hotel came the next morning in the form of the breakfast. It was the best selection and quality I have ever had in a hotel.
Keep up the good work and we'll be back for a weekend away very soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stud99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCurran, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Stud99

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review on your stay at the Brehon. All the team here put in a tremendous effort to make sure all our guests have the best time possible during their stay, and it’s more than pleasing for all the team to see such kind words.

We look forward to your next visit to Killarney and the Brehon.

Yours sincerely

Gary Curran
Hotel Manager
The Brehon
Tel: 064 6630700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

From the minute we walked in the door of the hotel we felt welcomed & relaxed, the staff were attentive & pleasant .We had booked a 2 night stay with one evening meal & we could not complain about a thing the room was of a good size with a comfortable bed & very clean.
We had a beautiful meal on the Saturday night in the hotel restaurant & the breakfast on each morning was more of a banquet then a buffet , As my wife said it was the first time she saw me have a starter(cornflakes & croissants) followed by a main course ( full fry-up) & dessert ( pancakes with red berries & yogurt )for breakfast . WOW! Full all day
The hotel is located just outside the town which is a long walk or 2 minute car journey & muckross house & gardens are again a long walk or 2 minute car journey in the opposite direction .I would recommend Muckross house & gardens for a visit, you can walk, run or cycle around its vast gardens & lakes which stretch for miles, we went for a run around the lakes & it was stunning.
We spent most of our time relaxing in the hotel, there are large sofas in the foyer where you watch the world go by or quite corners were you read your book or surf the web with the free Wi-Fi.
My wife had some treatments in hotel spa & said there were very good.
In essence it’s an excellent hotel with good food & well trained staff in a great location & we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danfajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCurran, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear danfajones

You’re so very kind for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on tripadvisor. It is absolutely wonderful to hear that you had such a wonderful time in the Brehon and in Killarney.

We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Curran
Hotel Manager
The Brehon
Tel: 064 6630700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
1.3 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
2.5 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.5 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
1.4 km away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,668 - ₹ 16,181
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing