We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Excellent service, lovely friendly staff, beautiful decor, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,255)
There are newer reviews for The Brehon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,842 - 1,846 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have stayed in The Brehon 3 times over the last 4 years or so and up until my most recent stay I would have always said that The Brehon was a 4* hotel attempting to to be a 5* now my opinion was changed I think The Brehon is a 4* hotel with a 3* standard. Perhaps it is a recession thing but there is something lacking - the bedroom was lovely, comfortable, adequate towels, clean etc but it was just lacking something eg that little sowing pack you always get in a hotel or cotton buds they just weren't there a little thing like that means a lot. Breakfast was nice but nothing special orange juice was average the bacon was over cooked and the sausages were very average. Service was fine but lacked that personal touch. So I'm afraid to say that that The Brehon is not as good as it used to be!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room out the front at least you will have a few of the lovely mountains of Killarney
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snow74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Great hotel, would recommend it, staff were really lovely and friendly, great Irish welcome. Rooms were lovely and roomy, clean and beds were really comfy. Only recommendation would be to open pool until 9pm instead of 7pm and change coffee suppliers in restaurant. Coffee in rooms was lovely but filtered was not nice. Well done on a lovely hotel, staff were really lovely, great to see traditional Irish hospitality is still alive and well in the Brehon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGSDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Had a lovely 1 night stay with hubby. I cant recommend highly enough extremely clean and fantastic room we were upgraded even though we were on an offer rate which was a great bargain. The suite we were given 401 was lovely counldnt fault it for hygiene and I am a bit picky cant help but notice small faults. breakfast lovely, swimming pool /spa are gorgeous. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My wife and I are just back from a fabulous 3 nights in the Brehon. Even though the hotel was very busy, there was no diminution of the high standards that we have come to expect from this super hotel. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the restaurant was superb.
All in all, a fabulous 3 days. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be slightly quieter but rooms in front have a slightly better view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryHCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#11 of 39 in Killarney
2,296 reviews
5.2 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2.5 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 39 in Killarney
1,353 reviews
1.3 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 39 in Killarney
1,421 reviews
1.4 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 39 in Killarney
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: ₹ 8,678 - ₹ 18,899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing