We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate”
Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neptunes Hostel
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We booked a private double room with ensuite which upon arrival was found to be a double bunk bed with another single bed in the room. This would have been fine if james had not kept banging his head on the bed above. The room and bathroom were both clean and a reasonable size, though both rooms were very cold. There was plenty of hot water in the morning.

Continental breakfast consisted of bread, cereal and toast - I would recommend going for something heartier somewhere else. The staff appeared to be friendly and helpful and there is free wifi if you have a smartphone (though this only works on the ground floor).

The best thing about this hostel is the location. It is central for shops, bars and cafes which is ideal when you don't want miles to walk in the cold and rain. However, in terms of cost I felt that this was a little overpriced and a bed and breakfast would have been more value for money. But then, I'm not a hostel kind of girl ;-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shilpaandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 233 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

Based on my room:
Twin single room (in a separate building from the main hostel) with only one functioning socket(only one plug worked) and only one window in the roof. Room kinda smelled strange as a result. No wifi or internet in this separate building.
Also have to share two bathrooms and two showers with 6 or 7 other rooms.

If you come here, basically try and get a room in the main building unless of course you want to dress for irish weather to use the internet and kitchen.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Fantastic location and very clean rooms. Staff are extremely helpful. Ensuites are very small but clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

It was a hostel, with a bed a shower and breakfast , perhaps a little overpriced.

Room was fine, bathroom a little tired, but no hot water in the morning was an absolute disgrace. A push button type shower, a reflection of the guests or the owners?

Superbly well equipped kitchen

I would be disappointed if this was the best Killarney had to offer

Room Tip: get one with a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chapapski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I was so excited to FaceTime my family (obviously we are on a different time zone) and the security guard yelled at me and aggressively threatened to kick me outside for the night. Granted, it was 3am but I was in the common area. His response was SO NEGATIVE and he made me feel very uncomfortable. I was not being loud, disruptive or obnoxious...just simply happy to talk to my sister back home. He made me hang up on her otherwise he wasn't going to let me into her room. Completely controlling & unnecessary. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepperleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
611 reviews
1.1 km away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#31 of 38 in Killarney
880 reviews
2.1 km away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#24 of 38 in Killarney
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
791 reviews
4.5 km away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
58 reviews
0.3 km away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#2 of 47 in Killarney
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: ₹ 1,414 - ₹ 4,692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing