We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innisfallen Island

Innisfallen Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 54.03*
and up
Killarney Kayaking Tour Including Innisfallen Island
Ranked #25 of 105 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Found a ride out to the island and spent an hour walking around, exploring the ruins. Very nice.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank qwerty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    23
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

What history! Like the Skelligs, you wonder how monks found this remote island and established a community so rich in history. And more so, how the vikings seemed to find and sack it over and over! Don't miss it. Take your time and walk around the island. It's simply breathtaking. We had it all to ourselves when we went - such a gift.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank KitCoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“happy boatman”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

took a boat trip out to the island - saw herd of sika deer - such a peaceful place - would have liked to stay longer - will be back

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulandHelen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth the cost of the boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

As my brother put it, it was like walking through a monument of great compassion. We took a small boat across from Ross Castle to the island and our boat guide informed us that in the 8th and 9th century Innisfallen was home to a group of monks who housed and cared for Lepers. It was so interesting to walk through the ruins and think about that life and what refuge that quiet island must have been. There are many deer on the island and they let us get within 20 or 30 meters to take photos. We went in the evening in mid-march (the season begins in March, so earlier visitors to Ross won't have boats available) and had the entire island to ourselves- kind of amazing! The ride over on a boat that probably seated 15 people at capacity was $20 for 2 of us, although I heard them quote $5 per person to a larger group of 5. Our captain was knowledgeable and entertaining!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlyLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Holy place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Everything about here is blessed. The solitude and silence are golden. It is the site of a 4th century monastery where the Annals of Innisfallen were written, and which are held in the Bodleian Library, Oxford.

Helpful?
Thank Marybor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Innisfallen Island also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Innisfallen Island? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing