We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gleneagle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 146
US$ 142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 245
US$ 197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 372
US$ 319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 336
US$ 289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ross(Killarney)
US$ 197
US$ 147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
US$ 134
US$ 130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 218
US$ 209
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 97
US$ 94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,509)
Filter reviews
1,509 results
Traveller rating
628
414
191
140
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
414
191
140
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen roomflesk restaurantbackstage barulster buscaptain jackglen eaglekids clubleisure centreentertainment every nightbalcony roompitch and puttshuttle busswimming poolbusy hotelbig hotelfamily roombit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,169 - 1,174 of 1,509 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2012

was there for a long weekend on a group convention, all the food was vegan (specifically requested by the group) but it was top class grub, brilliant catering and staff. Was not staying in the Hotel so I dont know anything about that. Very accomodating and considerate catering

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

I would like to offer our Thanks to this trip advisor member for being so considerate to take the time to write their review on their experience as a customer to what was a very successful Conference here at the Killarney Convention Centre recently.

It was a huge success and we have received nothing but the highest level of praise from many of the 800 delegates. Our staff from every level were very proud to have been part of this amazing event.

We are looking forward to having the opportunity to host this event in the future and maybe this trip advisor member might like to stay with us next time….

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

€60 per room. facilities excellent, events on the whole time. Best place in Killarney for family visit. Breakfast was plentiful and nice. One criticism, rooms and some areas need a wee bit of modernising. Would deff go back. Great stuff guys

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferol661944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Guests,

So nice to see you had a lovely Family Holiday…. Thank you for posting this realistic and genuine review and we hope to continue to provide your family with memorable experiences of Killarney and the Gleneagle Hotel….

Should I be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate in asking for me, would be my pleasure to assist you.

Thanks again for taking the time to write your review and opinion, it’s much appreciated from all the team.

Regards
Caroline Papin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Hotel is jaded and tired. A bit like a big old tanker ship that is just gone beyond it's sell by date. Rooms facing front were modern in 1970's, bathroom was poor, carpet and corridors were like a dorm ..... Staff were helpful but it is NOT value for money in a very good tourist town with plenty of better alternatives.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Guests,

Sorry to hear to you were not happy with your stay or your room, we are in the process and have long term commitments to refurbish some of our rooms. We have just completed 2 floors of rooms.

It is a long process, especially as we are such a busy hotel it is difficult to put off a lot of rooms at one particular time so it has to be conducted in stages throughout the year when we have the availability to do so.

Should you ever have the opportunity to visit in the future please contact me directly and I will ensure that you get allocated a nice room.

Many Thanks

Caroline Papin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just returned from weekend break in this hotel. Very dissapointed. Rooms old and in need of a revamp. No hairdryer, shower cap, tissues, trouser press irons for hire at 20 euro deposit, no safety deposit safes in the room.
Breakfast very average. OD resturant meal average. Green room bar not open.
Very over rated hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicm144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We arrived about 2am on a wet and cold night after a 7 hour journey (We had informed the hotel that we would be arriving late) to be greeted by door staff from the 'Backstage Bar' who made a smart comment about the time and didn't offer us any help with luggage or finding reception. Check-in went smoothly. We got to our room, in which the decor was extremely outdated, nothing like the pictures on the website!! But everything was all very clean. The saturday morning when we went down for breakfast we gave our room number but had to wait to be called for a table. When we did get called and in to the breakfast room there were approx. 6 or more tables empty - why did we have to wait?? The showers were good and hot but the old shower curtain made the bathroom get quite wet. Phoned reception to ask for an iron, waited over half an hour and phoned again. Waited another half hour or more and still no iron so i ohoned again and eventually got one, it's a good job I wasn't in a rush out to a meeting or event! Had a great night on the saturday night, stayed in the hotel and bar staff were all very friendly, toilets were nice and clean etc. Breakfast was a bit better the next morning except for one member of staff we heard cursing a group of people for sitting at a table that she had not yet set up - very rude and unprofessional! Check out went smoothly. All-in-all, an average hotel, I think you should be more honest on your website about the decor in your rooms and the price was definitely too high for the service we got. I don't think i would stay at the Gleneagles again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caoimhe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Guests,

I am extremely disappointed for failing to reach this Trip Advisor Member’s expectations during their stay with us.

I am quite surprised that you found our Staff to be rude this is not something we hear on a regular basis as the top compliment we receive here is about the staff and how great they are here.

I am sorry for the delay with Breakfast on the Saturday morning, sometimes when the Hotel is fully booked we could have up to and over 700 people staying at one time and it sometimes occurs that on weekends many people wish to have a lie in and then tend to all turn up at the same time for breakfast. Our Breakfast starts at 8am and runs normally till 11am at weekends however the Restaurant cannot seat the whole hotel at one time therefore sometimes there are delays if everyone arrives together. These delays are not normally very long as the staff turn the tables round as quickly as possible. In answer to the question why you had to wait ??? It is possible that there may have been tables for larger numbers then two, for example if there is a table for 4 or 6 people the restaurant will try to fill those tables in order to maximize the numbers and seat tables of 2 at a table for 2 people…

I can only apologise for the fact that you had a delay in receiving the iron & ironing board this is unfortunate, it may just have been a very busy period and all House Porters may have been extremely busy at this time, again I wish to apologise..

I am truly sorry that these customers feel they would not return again and would have appreciated them making their comments known to me or any Duty Manager prior to departing so we could have apologized directly and reassured them that should they ever decide to return that they would not have these complaints again.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews