We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly needs a Facelift”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Hotel is jaded and tired. A bit like a big old tanker ship that is just gone beyond it's sell by date. Rooms facing front were modern in 1970's, bathroom was poor, carpet and corridors were like a dorm ..... Staff were helpful but it is NOT value for money in a very good tourist town with plenty of better alternatives.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Guests,

Sorry to hear to you were not happy with your stay or your room, we are in the process and have long term commitments to refurbish some of our rooms. We have just completed 2 floors of rooms.

It is a long process, especially as we are such a busy hotel it is difficult to put off a lot of rooms at one particular time so it has to be conducted in stages throughout the year when we have the availability to do so.

Should you ever have the opportunity to visit in the future please contact me directly and I will ensure that you get allocated a nice room.

Many Thanks

Caroline Papin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,052 - 1,056 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just returned from weekend break in this hotel. Very dissapointed. Rooms old and in need of a revamp. No hairdryer, shower cap, tissues, trouser press irons for hire at 20 euro deposit, no safety deposit safes in the room.
Breakfast very average. OD resturant meal average. Green room bar not open.
Very over rated hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicm144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We arrived about 2am on a wet and cold night after a 7 hour journey (We had informed the hotel that we would be arriving late) to be greeted by door staff from the 'Backstage Bar' who made a smart comment about the time and didn't offer us any help with luggage or finding reception. Check-in went smoothly. We got to our room, in which the decor was extremely outdated, nothing like the pictures on the website!! But everything was all very clean. The saturday morning when we went down for breakfast we gave our room number but had to wait to be called for a table. When we did get called and in to the breakfast room there were approx. 6 or more tables empty - why did we have to wait?? The showers were good and hot but the old shower curtain made the bathroom get quite wet. Phoned reception to ask for an iron, waited over half an hour and phoned again. Waited another half hour or more and still no iron so i ohoned again and eventually got one, it's a good job I wasn't in a rush out to a meeting or event! Had a great night on the saturday night, stayed in the hotel and bar staff were all very friendly, toilets were nice and clean etc. Breakfast was a bit better the next morning except for one member of staff we heard cursing a group of people for sitting at a table that she had not yet set up - very rude and unprofessional! Check out went smoothly. All-in-all, an average hotel, I think you should be more honest on your website about the decor in your rooms and the price was definitely too high for the service we got. I don't think i would stay at the Gleneagles again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caoimhe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Guests,

I am extremely disappointed for failing to reach this Trip Advisor Member’s expectations during their stay with us.

I am quite surprised that you found our Staff to be rude this is not something we hear on a regular basis as the top compliment we receive here is about the staff and how great they are here.

I am sorry for the delay with Breakfast on the Saturday morning, sometimes when the Hotel is fully booked we could have up to and over 700 people staying at one time and it sometimes occurs that on weekends many people wish to have a lie in and then tend to all turn up at the same time for breakfast. Our Breakfast starts at 8am and runs normally till 11am at weekends however the Restaurant cannot seat the whole hotel at one time therefore sometimes there are delays if everyone arrives together. These delays are not normally very long as the staff turn the tables round as quickly as possible. In answer to the question why you had to wait ??? It is possible that there may have been tables for larger numbers then two, for example if there is a table for 4 or 6 people the restaurant will try to fill those tables in order to maximize the numbers and seat tables of 2 at a table for 2 people…

I can only apologise for the fact that you had a delay in receiving the iron & ironing board this is unfortunate, it may just have been a very busy period and all House Porters may have been extremely busy at this time, again I wish to apologise..

I am truly sorry that these customers feel they would not return again and would have appreciated them making their comments known to me or any Duty Manager prior to departing so we could have apologized directly and reassured them that should they ever decide to return that they would not have these complaints again.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I was among 800 attending a conference and even in the midst of catering for 800 they managed to provide delicious gluten free food with grace and ease. There was a no fuss friendly atmosphere throughout the hotel and staff always willing to help to make our stay more comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guests,

On behalf of all the staff here at the Gleneagle Hotel and the General Manager I wish to convey our sincere gratitude to you for not only taking the time to post your lovely review but also for sharing with every member of staff who was working during this conference a truly memorable experience…

We have catered for so many various kinds of Events / Conferences / Banquets & Seminars here at the Gleneagle Hotel & Killarney Convention Centre, however this conference really had a huge impact on all our team and it was an absolute honor and pleasure to have played a part in what was a very successful event.

It was one event where everybody just gelled together and it was such a pleasure to deal with such a large number of genuine fabulous people.
So we would also like to thank everyone who attended this conference for providing us with very fond memories and we certainly would love to host this event in the future.

With Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

just organized a conference with 800 people at the Gleneagle and Brehon hotel

it was really excellent vegetarian food, which they went to great length to make very interesting and plenty of it !
and the staff couldnt have been more helpfull!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

We would like to thank this Trip Advisor Member for your positive comments.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and these few lines really sums up our hotel…. So nice when people take the time to post their positive comments. Thank You so Much from all the team here at the Gleneagle we all appreciate it.

Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,312 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
596 reviews
0.7 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,603 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
535 reviews
1.6 km away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: ₹ 6,429 - ₹ 12,079 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing