We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Relaxing break away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing break away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Looking for somewhere to go with kids this is the place, lovely hotel stayed for 2 nights over Easter in a family room, double and 2 singles, plenty of room, tea/coffee facility in room. Staff very nice and welcoming throughout the hotel, big swimming pool warmest pool ever been in, lots of sections for swimmers and non swimmers, congrats to lifeguard who dived in and saved young girl in deep end while Dad in jacuzzi!! Great pitch and putt course, squash and tennis courts too. Pool and hockey table to keep older kids happy. Didn't use kids club. Lovely breakfast and food in bar, very relaxing when everyone is happy, will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bannerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. This is exactly what the Gleneagle is about. We are delighted you had such a good time and thank you so much for the very honest and positive review.

Hope you get to visit us in the near future.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    337
    158
    122
    117
See reviews for
390
367
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed in The Gleneagle as I was down for the teachers conference. I have to say i was very dissappointed. while we were expecting basic rooms, the decor that greeted us was awful. We were staying on the 3rd floor. The room did not look at all like the pictures on the website, and while they are under refurbishment it should be stated that not all room s look like this.While the room was clean, the curtains and bedpreads were very dated and faded. I felt I was in 1985! The bathroom was shabby with a rusty shower curtain pole, the shower was difficult to regulate and then came off in our hand! the corridor was equally shabby with seriously chipped paint on the corners. We did complain about our room and we were upgraded to The Brehon which was out of this world. I realise this hotel is 3 stars but I have stayed in plenty of three star hotels in Ireland both old and new and this was like nothing i has seen before. I feel people should be aware of what they are getting to make an informed choice.

On a positive note I have to say contrary to other reviewers the service was excellent. When we did complain they were very apologetic and helpful. Aldso the service in the bars and resaturants was very good as was the food. I did not use the leisure centre so I cant comment. Anyway I would not stay here again, there are plenty of other hotels in Killarney, which are not that much more expensive and are tons better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemooDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Public Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Guests,

I am sorry to hear you were so disappointed with the room on this occasion, as mentioned we are in the process of redecorating rooms and have long term plans continuously in operation here. We have just completed the redecoration of some Rooms and have further plans to continue decorating on more throughout the year.

I would like to Thank you for your positive comments , we have an amazing team of staff here who are always more then willing to go out of their way to ensure Guests are happy and satisfied and who take pride in their roles and responsibilities. So praise where praise is due and sincere gratitude is offered to you for highlighting those comments.

Should you have the occasion to visit again in the future please contact me directly and I will endeavor to ensure that you are allocated a nicer room next time.

With Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Two very active boys(10 and 11) were busy and happy for four days. During the day they swam, played football, pool, tennis and golf. One evening they went to a Jedward concert and other evenings they went to teen zone(8 years+) where Dieter and Mark entertained them with quizes, Playstation etc. One of the highlights for the boys was an inflatable slide which appears occasionally in the swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula_Beatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you so much for your very positive recent review, I have shared this with all the team and we are very grateful to you for taking the time to do so.

We are delighted your two boys had such an amazing time and hope they enjoyed the Jedward Concert…. Always a great hit with the kiddies…

Many Thanks from Myself & all the team here at the Gleneagle Hotel.

Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and fully enjoyed it. We expected that, given the price it, would not be the usual 5 * hotel that we stay in but decided to give it a go due to it's child friendly reputation and we were not dissappointed. The room was comfortable but basic (very clean). The hotel caters for all ages and my two nine year old boys fully enjoyed the Teen Zone each evening - leaving time for us to enjoy a relaxing drink in the bar. The breakfast is good but due to the fact that we were staying slightly off season the evening eating options were limited but there is a srumptous Chinese next store and several options in Killarney town itself. I was especially impressed when having decided to stay an extra couple of nights the hotel offered to have my laundry delivered into the town, service washed and delivered back to me that evening (all for the standard chrage of a service wash). All in all I fully recommend the Gleneagle as a great place to go with kids. If you are expecting plush then please don't but you will also be pleased when checking out that you are not presented with a 'plush' bill. We will return - off season - as we enjoyed the relative quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMOD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
I would personally like to say a very big thank you to this trip Advisor member for such a wonderful report on their recent visit. We our very proud of our staff and the service in which everyone delivers and of the fantastic atmosphere that makes the Gleneagle what it is.

We are a 3 Star Hotel yet some people expect the standards of a 5 star hotel for the same price. Our rates and packages offer fantastic value for money, with nightly entertainment, Leisure Centre & Kids Clubs & Teen Zone (during holiday periods).

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our sincere thanks and gratitude to you for taking the time write this review.
Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our experience was ok. The website would suggest the hotel is more modern than it is. It appears quite dated - though there appears to be plans to update it at the moment. The pool was attractive with a baby. There was a baby pantry , which was great, where you could store your babyfood/milk etc. but despite asking for it when we booked and arrived, we were located in another wing of the hotel so had a 10 min round trip for each bottle, etc. The options for eating were very limited so we ended up going into the town for all meals. So it was an ok stay but don't think we'd like to we'll return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
We are sorry for failing to reach this Trip Advisor Member’s expectations during their recent visit.

The Gleneagle is an older hotel however we are constantly striving to refurbish and improve our product. Many of our bedrooms and the main Lobby of the Hotel have in fact been refurbished and this is an ongoing project that we are striving to complete.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with everything they need under one roof from Entertainment every night , Leisure facilities to Kids Club programs along with Tennis Courts, a Pitch n Putt course and Squash courts and Teen Zone ( during Holiday periods for the older children).

I wish to apologise for the fact your room was unable to be allocated nearer the Baby Facility Room on the 2nd Floor on this occasion, should you ever decide to give us a second chance in the future please contact me directly and I will endeavour to ensure that the Gleneagle Team offers you a stay that is entirely memorable for all the right reasons and I will personally ensure that your room requirements are met.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.8 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.4 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.5 km away
International Hotel Killarney
10.8 km away
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#3 of 3 in Fossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,234 - ₹ 12,267
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing