We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a delightful surprise in Killarney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a delightful surprise in Killarney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

What a surprise! This place was very enjoyable. The staff is delightful and does everything to be has helpful as possible. The rooms were very nice and clean. The lobby and the rest of the hotel was very inviting. I would have liked to stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Nick,

“I would have liked to stay longer!” Music to any hoteliers' ears. What greater compliment can one get than to hear that the guest regretted having to leave so soon?

I am truly blessed with the team that has developed over the years and they all have a genuine desire to serve and be as helpful as possible to guests. Their joy is to see guest making themselves feel at home in The Arbutus and also making the most of their time in Killarney.

We hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon and that you will stay longer and still be saying “I would have liked to stay longer!” on your departure.

Until then, slán.

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    242
    39
    19
    6
See reviews for
276
536
47
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Il
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have returned to Arbutus from Chicago many times. The hotel has a family feel with a very friendly staff. Rooms are large, comfortable, and clean. Great full breakfast is included, and dinner at the hotel is perfect. Buckley's is the attached pub where visitors and locals mingle over a pint, and if you like pubs, just walk three block outside the hotel door and you'll find every other establishment is a pub with Irish live music. Locally, taking a jaunting cart across the Gap of Dunloe is a must, and concludes by boating through the Lakes of Killarney and ending at Ross Castle, That to us is much better than doing the Ring of Kerry, which is my view is overrated, (unless you like to follow lots of tour buses a long way around). We will certainly return again to Killarney and the Arbutus Hotel.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bseym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Manager at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Bseym,


Thank you for the lovely review. “We love this hotel”, well guess what? We love you too. It is a joy to see you return time and time again and make yourself at home in The Arbutus.

The Gap of Dunloe certainly is a great Killarney day and it really captures the essence of what makes it so special and yet is almost timeless. The next time you come I must tell you about some of my favourite spots on the Ring, away from the the tour buses.

Until then, slán,

Seán Buckley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Spent 2 nights in gorgeous Kilarney at this wonderful hotel.

I will start with the cons, because there is only one:
-The parking is 250meters away. So you have to unload your stuff on the busy street then drive up to the parking and walk back

Now the pros:
-Staff, awesome, both at reception and at the bar (they are actually a couple, and both treated us very kindly). What everyone has said about the attention of the staff is true.
-Free wifi throughout the hotel
-Got upgraded to a deluxe room, it was a long walk to that end of the hotel, but worth it. The room had an electric fireplace
-Location to the rest of town is great and all of Kilarney's attractions are a nearby walk away
-Price was good, we were there just before Easter and it cost less than other hotels and delivered way more
-I have to say it again, the staff were great. They make the difference.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttpluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
TT Pluto,

Thank you for you’re your wonderful review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time at The Arbutus.

The philosophy my grandparents had when they started the hotel over 85 years ago was that they were in the “people” industry and not the “hotel” industry. Over the years The Arbutus Hotel Killarney has earned its reputation from the quality of hospitality it offers. From the beginning Tim Buckley knew that the first people you need to be comfortable in your hotel are the staff. If the person greeting you in reception or serving you breakfast in the dining room is happy, hospitality follows in their footsteps. We look for the best people to work with us and, thankfully, we don't have to look too often because they tend to stay. And, while most of our staff are highly trained, their welcome comes from the heart not college. Also we believe in the law of attraction, nice people attracting nice people. It makes our job very easy when we are dealing with nice guests.

In relation to your comment “IT COST LESS THAN OTHER HOTELS AND DELIVERED WAY MORE”. At The Arbutus we continuosly strive to deliver fair value and in doing this hope to get guests returning and/or willing to recommend us to others, which in turn saves on our need to spend large amounts on advertising. Thanks to you for recommending us on Tripadvisor, you are an integral part of this saving. Congratulations on becoming an honour member of our sales and marketing team, keep up the good work.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and yours back to The Arbutus in the future.

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANCHESTER/DUBLIN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Recently stayed here for a family 60th in Killarney. The staff are really exceptional; warm friendly; you received a greeting every time you passed through reception which is unusual in most hotels these days.
I was staying alone and ended up in a huge room with a double and a single bed; table chairs and a bathroom that had a seperate shower and bath - this is the benefit of the hotel being in such an old building - you don't get space like this in a new hotel. The downside of it being an old hotel is that the decor is a bit dated and some rooms could do with some modernisation.
The breakfast was a bit basic also - no pudding; mushrooms; beans - nothing extra. The ginger cake on the cold buffet was gorgeous though.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Killarney; the rate we received was comparable to b+b's in the area so its also good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YVOBAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Yvobaz,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at The Arbutus on Tripadvisor. It was a delight to see that you and your family enjoying the gathering over the bank holiday weekend.

There is no doubt that I am very, very fortunate with the team that has developed over the years. As you said they “are really exceptional, warm and friendly”. They have great wish that guests feel comfortable and at home in The Arbutus and to make the most of their time in Killarney and Kerry. I will pass on all your kind comments to the team.

I am sorry to see that you felt our breakfasts were a bit basic. There must have been a breakdown in communication somewhere along the line as the items you say were missing are all available along with several other options such as Smoked Slamon & Scrambled eggs, French toast with Maple syrup, Fish of the day, Selection of cheeses and kippers. I hope that we get the opportunity to allow our breakfasts to wow you the next time that you visit.

Thank you again for the review and the recommendation “Charming hotel in an excellent location with fantastic staff!” & “I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Killarney; the rate we received was comparable to b+b's in the area so its also good value.” .
VALUE, LOCATION AND FANTASTIC STAFF, what more could a hotel wish to be seen as delivering? Thanks.

Slán,

Seán Buckley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Loved this place, would stay again. The staff is soooo helpful and go out of their way to give you personal attention with helping to plan day trips and giving great advice on places to eat and things to do. There is live music in the attached bar/lounge several nights per week. My only complaint is that the mattresses and pillows etc. are old and need replacing. Overall, a great place to stay right in the heart of things with an easy walk to the bus station.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Trish

Thank you very much choosing to stay with us and also thanks for the lovely review.

“A darling hotel with exceptional staff and right in the heart of things”, that is what you say we are, well that is what we are delighted to see you think we are. Go raibh míle maith agat.

Great to see that you enjoyed your time in Killarney and that you and your lovely daughter enjoyed your trip through The Gap. It is one of my favourite days out.

Again thank you for the review and the recommendation. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you both back to the Arbutus again soon.

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 km away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
1.6 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
0.0 km away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,226 - ₹ 14,573
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing