We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Family break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Only home 2 days and kids are wanting to know when are we returning again !!
Staff were most helpful, kids club great, golf course great (so my husband and son reported back...) Beautiful views and walks. Compliments to the chefs, our meals were wonderful!!
Looking forward to our return again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse. We are delighted you and your family had such an enjoyable stay here with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    219
    76
    34
    26
See reviews for
287
164
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on a family package, which to be honest was great value. The room itself was quite basic and could do with some updating and a good deep clean. There were old blankets on the beds, which I found surprising, as I thought blankets had long been replaced by duvets! The dinner, which was included in the package was very good. However, this now brings me on to the service, which I can only say was atrocious. On the second evening I asked for an ice bucket as the white wine I had ordered the previous evening had been warm and I didn't want to repeat this. The waiter proceeded to get into a full blown argument that the wine was cold enough! When I mentioned this to the Restaurant Manager the following morning it was just brushed off. Overall the staff were very impolite and unhelpful. there were a couple of exceptions but I strongly feel they could all do with some customer relations and service training.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iccna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,
It is with regret that I read your review and your dissatisfaction with your stay in the hotel. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel with regards your requests for an ice bucket this should have been supplied to you on request and management have spoken with the waiter on duty on the night in question. I am sorry to hear you found the level of customer service in other departments of the hotel below standard and have made the Manager aware of this. I do hope this did not upset your holiday in Killarney.
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The hotel at first appears very old fashioned,with basic rooms and bathroom.The staff were lovely and the food was good.The children had a great time at the kids club which was very well run and filled with lots to do.We will definitely return to the Castlerosse.

Room Tip: Ask to over look the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fraday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was glad to read how much your kids enjoyed our Castle Rangers Kids Club and activities. We look forward to your return visit to Killarney and the Castlerosse.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We are a family of 2 kids and 2 adults - we dropped into the Castlerosse for a coffee. It made such a positive impression on me I felt I had to write about it. We were made feel so so welcome. Everyone we met was warm and friendly. We just went in for a coffee and left booking a 3 night stay in the lodges! We ordered coffee and the lady behind the bar offered the kids a jug of cordial - a real nice gesture we had just left an establishment that charged us for cordial! I must say first impressions do matter and the Castlerosse excel in first impressions. Keep up the good work. The kids playground is great and the lodges look fantastic. Looking forward to going back. I must say of late I have found it such a rare experience to get a warm welcome and it was refreshing to feel it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumof2Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse. We are delighted you have decided to book one of our Golf Lodges and look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

just returned after another week at the castlerosse hotel, and breathtaking killarney and the whole family are very happy. we have been coming back hear every year for the last 10 years as its very family frendly, we find the self catering suits us better as we like to have different options when it comes to food and the hotel food is basic and a bit dated the golf lodges are very well equiped, warm and very well decorated and are actually 4 star and would easily hold 2 familys of 4,so we always invite friends along, the lodges are a much higher standard then the cottages, but the cottages are excellent also. the staff are always helpful especielly frank in the bar and the girl in the leasure centre,having stayed in loads of hotels around ireland and at least 5 others in killarney the castlerosse is an excellent 3 star hotel,(maybe the best) dont go expecting 5 star food, or opulent decor,( thats not fair) its a very frendly clean and well run practical base for your stay in killarney, very suited to golfers,familys, groups and stopovers, its very quite and secure the views are amazing, with new walk and cycleways into the town through the national park, overall we had an excellent stay with great service, this to me is what irelands tourism has come from and what it is built on, reliable frendly and honest, with no uncomfortable pretencious nonsance, and myself coming from a 5 star service backround is certanly not what i want my children to grow up with or get used to. well done castlerosse, we will be back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daithi_11_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. We at the Castlerosse are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & welcome you back again in the near future, also thank you for sharing your lovely photos with us!
Kind Regard's
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
4.1 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
2.4 km away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
3.3 km away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#30 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
5.8 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
2.2 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Property: Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,766 - ₹ 12,285
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing