We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views......”
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views......”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights. Our full day was to trip around the Ring of Kerry. This hotel is ideally located for this. Quite a "regal" look to the inside of the building.
The main resturant was not open for evening meals the day we were there. (Mid week) They served dinner in the "Sun room" conservatory.... The food was a little restricted in choice but the quality was very good. Again the quality of the cooked breakfast was as very good.
There are a number local walks to attractions should you not wish use your car or in my case motorcycle.
Would stay here again .......?

Room Tip: Stayed in a delux lake view room. Everything you would expect.. Superb lake view. Was only 2 of abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJD1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,618
    361
    98
    27
    13
See reviews for
382
1,265
46
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent last weekend in the Lake Hotel and had a most enjoyable time. Our visit started with a boat trip on the lake which was beautiful and very informative thanks to John the boatman.
Our room was excellent. Overlooking the lake as seems to be the way with most rooms in the hotel . The dinner was first class and there were plenty of options for my wife, who is coeliac, and on a gluten free diet. Breakfast was equally good and the buffet was constantly refreshed.
The staff were all very friendly and professional especially our waitress Aileen who was always smiling and ensuring we had everything we needed. The time just flew by and we were sorry to leave but will definitely return to the Lake Hotel a the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: Just ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Templeogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here for a well deserved break from the smallies! We stayed in the original part of the hotel. The bedroom was huge, imaculate and had a balcony. Only gripe is that these rooms really do need to be upgraded. Pine furniture just doesnt cut it for me and I guess people expect a flat screen tv etc. That said, cleanliness is a huge thing for me, and the room was spotless with a stunning view onto the lake. It doesnt get much better. This hotel has a lovely old world feel to it.....serves gorgeous guinness in the bar....compared to acrid pints served in certain pubs in town....the staff are very friendly. The toasted sandwiches in the bar were great...and the food in the restaurant was very nice too. This hotel gives you good value for your buck...and we prefer somewhere like the Lake Hotel which has lots of character. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new extension rather than the original building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a beautiful hotel tucked away in woodland and on the shore of a tranquil lake. this place is magical and has great character. first thing in the morning there were 7 wild deer down by the lake. you will not forget your stay here. make sure you get a room with a view of the lake.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galwaybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here in November 2011 for our anniversary, we stayed in one of the amazing Roman themed rooms.
We enjoyed everything from the lovely views of the Kilarney Lakes to the out door hot tub.
All the staff we dealt with were very friendly.

Room Tip: Would recommended trying one of the themed rooms the hotel has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ger14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
5.9 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.9 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
1.6 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
6.4 km away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
934 reviews
2.3 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Property: Lake Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,884 - ₹ 21,124
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing