We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a beautiful hotel tucked away in woodland and on the shore of a tranquil lake. this place is magical and has great character. first thing in the morning there were 7 wild deer down by the lake. you will not forget your stay here. make sure you get a room with a view of the lake.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galwaybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,469
    338
    91
    26
    11
See reviews for
342
1,147
39
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here in November 2011 for our anniversary, we stayed in one of the amazing Roman themed rooms.
We enjoyed everything from the lovely views of the Kilarney Lakes to the out door hot tub.
All the staff we dealt with were very friendly.

Room Tip: Would recommended trying one of the themed rooms the hotel has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ger14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Myself and my boyfriend have stayed in this hotel 3 times and i thought it was about time i wrote a review. Firsly the views are just magical, on our first visit while out on the bacony a deer came in full view, we were so fascinated we stayed out there ages . We stayed in the master deluxe twice and the four poster lake view once. Both are fantastic rooms. Rooms are very spacious and have a jacuzzi. Slippers and bath robes provided. The Breakfast is great- a real irish breakfast and much more, the breakfast room is also over looking the lake which is lovely. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone especially for people looking to a romantic weekend away together.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amzs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I go to Killarney two or three times a year and this is where I chose to stay if im with my girlfriend for the weekend. Its a little further along the Muckross hotel then others so not so good if you want to walk home after a night out. Its perfect for couples, less facilities then some for kids.

Positives
The location is a massive plus though right on Muckross Lake a few minutes walk away from the park.
The restraunt food is very good.
The Hotel is family run. Three brothers from what I can tell and their all very friendly, down to earth and helpful. Like most family run businesses you get the feeling their more genuine in wanting to make your stay a happy one.
This attitude follows though to the staff who are friendly.
Its an older hotel in good condition with characther and charm that newer hotels dont have.
The common areas are really nice and inviting.
Theres a computer room with 3 free to use pc's.
Sometimes you can see deer on the beautiful lakeside grounds.

Negatives
Wifi is only available in the areas near the lobby and computer room.
No swimming pool, though there is a tennis court.
No air conditioning but not really needed in Ireland anyhow.

Room Tip: The woodland view rooms overlook the carpark and arent really special. Its worth paying the extra fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balmed_0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We were booked into the hotel for only two nites at first, but after seeing our room and the surrounds of the hotel we added one more night...beautiful four poster bed, great breakfast, lovely dinner, the staff was darling, espescially Steven, the bar man...(still needs to find me a stuffed puffin).. And Michael, one of the owners who is as avid as my husband as a photog, each day gave us a complete map and itinerary of where to find best shots...

It was November, off season, and that made it even more special...Very hard to leave, but we will be back with our sons soon! Loved it! The Gunns from USA

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster suites looking over the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mithian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
2.2 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.7 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2.2 km away
International Hotel Killarney
2.4 km away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Property: Lake Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,069 - ₹ 16,756
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing