We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly amazing in every way!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Priory Coach House and Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Priory Coach House and Courtyard
The Living Room in the Coach House The Living Room in the Coach House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
The Priory Coach House and Courtyard
The Living Room in the Coach House
The Living Room in the Coach House
The Living Room in the Coach House
View of the Stairs in the Coach House
The Kitchen in the Coach House
Stairs in the Coach House
Bedroom in the Coach House
Bedroom No. 2 in the Coach House
Bathroom in the Coach House
Coach House Sign
Coach House
View from Aghadoe of the Lakes
Derrynane on the Ring of Kerry - 90 minute drive
Ballaghasheen Pass 25 miles away
Half way up Torc Mountain (10 Minute Drive Away)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Killarney, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
TheSullys...
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly amazing in every way!”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My sister in law and her family stayed in the Coach House (while we were in the Priory Cottage, the grandparents in the Priory Loft and all the grandkids in the main house!) and I can review (because they may not) their location. Like every spot around the Priory's courtyard - this one had old Irish charm with all the modern conveniences. The kitchen was fabulous...the bathrooms spacious and clean and fully modern...in cottage laundry was available...and the bedrooms were spotless and comfortable. The fireplace was a bonus that served us well - even in August!

Our family stumbled upon the O'Donohue's Priory property when we booked lodging for 4 last fall to scout for our planned August reunion...but what we found was the PERFECT location for our group of 25 this summer. There are several "cottages" around a picturesque courtyard all located on a private property. Each cottage affords ample privacy for independent travelers...but in our case...it provided the IDEAL location for all of us to be together. This was the trip of a lifetime for our family and we would HIGHLY recommend the Priory to groups of any size. Please give the O'Donohue's our best when you get there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the charm, and the opportunity this place gave us to be
Liked least: leaving...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmmcq
springfield,ma
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Charming, Comfortable,First Class”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We just returned from our stay at The Priory. We stayed in the loft which is spacious, comfortable, and feels like home. You can feel the historic charm all around you without missing a single modern convenience. Great care and attention to detail in the renovation and furnishing of this property make it the perfect place to stay. There is plenty of room to spread out and enjoy one another's company. I would never return to Ireland and not stay here. We absolutely loved it.
It looks exactly like it does in the photos!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky D
Alameda, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a gem!!!,”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Four of us just returned from a weeks stay here - the place was lovely! The coach house had two bedrooms each with a private bath which was just perfect for us - it was well furnished and the kitchen was lovely! The nights were a bit cool so we availed ourselves of the "peat" burning fireplace which warmed the place nicely. It is located close to Killarney town centre ( 10 - 15 minute walk) and Killarney was a great home base for day trips to dingle, golfing etc and w
Akind distance from several local attractions (Muckross House, Ross Castle etc. Tim and Bernadette the owners couldn't have been nicer and their dogs Maisy and Oscar are adorable! We would all stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of the place -
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have stayed with Tim & Bernadette O'Donohue once before at their Priory Cottages located 15 minute walk outside of Killarney Town. Its close proximity to town and a number of local attractions make it the perfect spot to stay when in Killarney for a few days. We ended our Two week visit to the Republic and Northern Ireland with a four night stay in one of their beautifully maintained cottages and could not think of a better way to end our trip. My wife and I have visited Ireland on many occasions over the past 20 years and this trip brought my cousin and her husband with us on their first trip over. We stayed in "The Loft" cottage this time which is the largest of the four cottages available, comfortably sleeping 7-8 persons in three bedrooms, one of which has its own bathroom. A second bathroom is also located in the common hall upstairs down from the remaining two bedrooms. There is an attractive, well supplied kitchen providing all one would need to feel right at home. A large dining table that seats 6-8 is next to the kitchen. The comfortable living area with two large sofas that surround a wood burning stove complete the cozy picture. Tim provides kindling wood, fire starters, and, of course, peat to burn in the stove which gives off that lovely aroma that warms the whole cottage. Tim and Bernadette designed and rebuilt all the cottages themselves over the past years as they began as outbuildings of an old Priory manor home. He will proudly show you his photo album which details the painstaking work as it shaped the cottages into what one sees today.
The Priory's central location is perfect for visiting all that Killarney has to offer as some of the sites are within walking and/or biking distance; Ross Castle, Muckross House and Gardens, The Abbey, Turk waterfalls, just to name a few are all nearby. Blarney Castle and Cork City are an easy 1-1.5 hour car ride away. Limerick, an hour, and Rock of Cashel 2.5 hours away.
Tim and Bernadette are the perfect hosts, always available to assist with any questions or concerns. If you're lucky, you may even get a morning surprise one day with a basket of Bernadettes delicious scones!! Want to have a barbeque? no problem, Tim has a gas grill you can use should you want to try your hand at grilling some delicious cuts of Kerry beef from Cronin's Butcher shop in Killarney.
If you decide to stay with them I STRONGLY RECOMMEND that you book early as they fill up very fast, especially in the summer months June, July, and August. Especially if you want a specific cottage in mind. They are easy to book with, just check on their lovely website for all the details. Currently they do not take credit cards for payment other then the initial deposit that is required with all bookings. Bernadette is working on that.
When Location is important, there is only one spot to choose, The PRIORY.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, appearance of the cottage, comfortable
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens K
Liederbach am Taunus, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An Irish Dream - Centrally Located - Old Stonehouse perfectly fitted”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in July 2013

The house is huge for a vacation rental - over 2 floors
The landlords were extremely nice - they let us use the barbecue at night as well - actually they live next door in a smaller house - as they are vacating the larger houses during peak holiday seasons
The house has a wonderful character - still perfectly new fitted from the inside. You will not miss anything. I would 100% recommmend this house to everybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing