We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music and dance”
Review of Murphy's Bar

Murphy's Bar
Ranked #20 of 203 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 43
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had such a great time here that we went back a second night. Traditional Irish music was top notch and we were lucky enough to have a couple of <traditional> dancers in the bar who decided to put on a show. The fact that this is right next door to the Arbutus Hotel (where we were staying) was an added bonus. So much fun.

Thank gnswhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hello ,
Many thanks for a great review ! It's always wonderful to hear when our guests have enjoyed their visit to Murphy's. Delighted you had so much fun !
All the best ,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 179 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Came here at recommendation of our B&B hosts and we were not disappointed! Service was a little sparse - if you are running out of beer grab your server soon if you need more! Also not a lot of seating.

Food was great - we had different things - steak and mushroom pie, cottage pie and Guinness stew were all delicious. I am told the music here is terrific but it doesn’t start til 9:30 PM which was a little late for us early on in the trip!

Very reasonable prices. Great little place.

Thank jknd02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hello ,
Many thanks for an excellent review . it's good to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at Murphy's. We specialise in quality traditional Irish dishes , it sounds like you sampled a few of our best ones ! We can be very busy at peak times in Murphy's and this may cause a queue for tables. We like to think this is a good sign of our establishment !!
Best wishes,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Good pub with very good music.
Service was ok. Seats difficult to come by didn't seem to have that many. But that said a good night was had.

Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Martin ,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your night at Murphy's.
All the best ,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We ate at Murphy's a couple of times while in Killarney. It was conveniently located next to the Arbutus Hotel. The food was good as was the service.

Thank needlerdks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hello ,
Many thanks for submitting a positive review of your visit to Murphy's Bar. We are really pleased that everything was to your satisfaction.
All the best ,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Convenient to walk too. Friendly super staff.
Owner so very welcoming. Working along with his team ensuring his customers ok. St. Patrick's Day Burton's given out. Wet the Shamrock @ Murphy's. Apparantly this was the tenth year button. I wore mine. Irish Stew. Corn beef. Pie to name a few Irish dishes on menu in keeping with the Patrons Saint of Ireland
Chef's specials. Excellent. Steak sandwiches. Beef burgers all the trimmings. Dressed tables Irish mini flags. Super athmosphere. Televisions on asnwe Ireland playing our Rugby game 17th March 2018. Winners of Grand Slam & Championship. Excellent place to watch The sport and have a bite. All round good place. Not over crowded. Nice customer's.

1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi Susan ,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review !
St. Patrick's day is a very special day in Murphy's , that button will become a collector's item so you should call again next year for a new one !!!
All the best ,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphy's Bar also viewed

 

Been to Murphy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing