We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic good Irish food”
Review of Murphy's Bar

Murphy's Bar
Ranked #20 of 202 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 43
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Went to Murphy's with my son for dinner. We had a burger and the cottage pie.
Service was good and would recommend the cottage pie.

Thank Retailgirl8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Hello ,
Thank you for a positive review , your comments are much appreciated. We hope you enjoyed your time in Killarney !
Best wishes,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 325 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017

We stumbled into Murphy's looking to have a decent dinner and a pint or two of Guinness. We had a great time, the food was excellent, portions were huge and the service was outstanding. Sean Murphy (proprietor) came by and checked on us to make sure our waitress (his daughter) was doing a fine job. We learned that Murphy's has been a multi-generational (at least 4 generations) family-owned restaurant/bar. What a great place to go if you're in Killarney!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 463arthurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Hello ,
Thank you for a really nice review! Delighted you were happy with your waitress, she has been trained well by Seán !! We like to keep it in the family especially in the Summer months when we have school holidays.
We hope you had a great time visiting Killarney.
All the best ,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Great pub, good music, craft beers on draught! However you feel surrounding by tourists (which is the general feel of Killarney)

Thank Migwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hi Migwen,
Thank you for submitting a positive review. There is no doubt Killarney is a tourist town due to it's beautiful surroundings , but us locals are proud to show it off to those who visit and do our best to provide a great welcome !
Funnily at Murphy's we take pride in the fact that we are equally popular with locals !
We hope you enjoyed your time in beautiful Killarney .
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

We were going to go to another local pub, but they were rude so we decided to go to Murphy's because it was across the street from our hotel. It was a hidden gem, the food was delicious and not badly priced at all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kaitlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Hi Kaitlyn,
We are delighted you found us ! Thank you for a lovely review, so glad everything was to your satisfaction !
Best wishes,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

The food and service was amazing. We ate dinner upstairs, which has a very quaint, somewhat romantic vibe, but is also good for a larger party. The food was so fresh, healthy, and authentic. We had visited the downstairs pub earlier in the day, which has a vibrant, pub-like vibe, but the upstairs is much more of a dinner atmosphere...like a beautiful old farmhouse. Very nice experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank catmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Hi catmaggie ,
What a fantastic review ! We never tire of positive feedback !! We are really delighted you liked everything about Murphy's . Maybe you will come back again sometime ??
All the best ,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphy's Bar also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Murphy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing