We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food and GREAT Gin & Tonic”
Review of Murphy's Bar

Murphy's Bar
Ranked #19 of 203 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 43
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch and a "pint" and enjoyed a surprise bachelor tradition. The bridegroom has to dress in a strange costume and buy rounds for all his mates! We had delicious pizza and enjoyed the pub.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank flatrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Hi there !
Thanks for a great review , we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Murphy's Bar.
We hope you enjoyed your visit to Killarney !
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 359 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017

Great place for the music crack and the beer. The food we had was very good and cooked to our liking all served while the racing was on the television which was ok for me but not my wife.Go early to this place as it fills up very quickly. The music starts at about 9.30 which is good.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sydneyreed1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Hello Sydneyreed,
Thank you for submitting a review about your visit to Murphy's. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us . As you said we are well known for welcome and atmosphere not to mention decent food accompanied by a good pint !
Call again sometime!
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Our tour bus stopped here on the way back from the Dingle Peninsula. We were treated to songs and dancing, and of course, glasses of the beverage of our choice were available for purchase. Delightful pub experience.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank genglertNorfolk_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Hello ,
What a lovely review ! Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your experience in Murphy's. It sounds like you had a most enjoyable time.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland!
All the best ,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Hard to find pubs in Ireland that serve food - guess everyone just goes to pubs to drink. After wandering around for a long time, we finally found Murphy's Bar, which our CIE tour directory recommended. Being that our tours didn't offer American fare, such as a good ol' burger, and we had heard that the beef was outstanding in Ireland, we both chose to get a 1/2# burger with all the fixings. The unusual thing for us was that the menu clearly stated to allow 20 minutes for burgers. When I ordered, I asked the waitress how it would be cooked, and she said, by Irish law, all burgers must be cooked WELL to make sure the bacteria was gone. Well, I like my burgers medium but I chose to get this burger anyway. BIG MISTAKE!!!! It was so tough and tasteless, that I took a few bites and that was it. Finished the veggies that came with it (lettuce, tomatoes, onions and a pickle), and a few fries. And for almost $16 U.S. dollars, a big disappointment. But, it WAS my fault! I will say, all the other tables where I could see their food choices looked delicious. So, I still give Murphy's a 4-star rating. Just be aware of the Irish hamburger cooking law if you decide to order a burger.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Hello Sharon,
Thank you for reviewing your visit to Murphy's. We apologise if the burger was not cooked to your taste. We are as explained constrained by Irish food and safety laws.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Killarney !
Best wishes,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

A favourite bar that always does good food, great guinness and has a great atmosphere. Only one complaint and that was last night (21\5\17). When we called in to ask about a table, the guy that was working front of house and taking table bookings was extremely rude when telling us there were no tables available, and told us in a very stern way to go away. If he is stressed now, how is he going to handle things in the main season. A shame because all the staff that have ever served us in the past have been polite and helpful. I would avoid going there again if he was on duty.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Hi Karen ,
Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that Murphy's is a favourite of yours but very disappointed that you encountered unfriendly service.We will do our best to ensure it doesn't happen again.
All the best,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphy's Bar also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Murphy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing