We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #59 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed at the Amber hill for 3 nights during our 2 week visit to Ireland. The location of the b&b is brilliant. It is just outside the centre of Galway so parking is no trouble. It is nice that you can go out and know that you are going to be able to park back up on your return. It is close enough to Galway however that you can get a taxi in (if you want a drink) or as we did drive in (was pregnant so drinking not on the menu).

The room at the b&b was nice and spacious. We had brought all sorts on holiday with us to keep us entertained incase it rained for 2 weeks including a big bag of games. There was plenty of room without things getting in the way. The decor was modern, upto date and clean. The bathroom was massive (being pregnant this again is a big plus).

The breakfast included cakes, pastries, jam, toast fruit ect. And you could have a cooked breakfast. Being a b&b this was booked fresh to your order rather than a buffet breakfast at a hotel. They also cooked my, the eggs have to be cooked through, I can't have black or white pudding etc etc perfectly every day. The times that breakfast was over was a good range too meaning we got to have it at a reasonable time.

We had o trouble with any noise from either guests or outside noise during the night so had good sleeps.

If we came back to Galway we would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Hi Susan,
thank you for taking the time to write this great review for AmberHill. We are grateful for this and are delighted to hear you had a nice time with us. We hope all goes well when the new baby arrives and hopefully we will meet you again next time you are in Galway.

Best wishes from all the management and staff here at Amber Hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

There are a lot of rooms in this B & B which make it feel more like a hotel than a B & B. The rooms are small, but clean. The B & B is fairly convenient for driving out to Connemara and into the town center of Galway. The hosts are great, one even went out and bought me another box of cereal when I ran out of the one brought from home. My husband enjoyed their delicious breakfasts and I appreciated that they had soy milk on hand for my special diet.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markru_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Hello and thank you very much for this review you have written for Amber Hill. It was a pleasure to have met you and we were happy to read you enjoyed your stay.
It was no problem to take care of your special dietary requirements and Its great to hear your husband enjoyed the full Irish.

Once again thank you so much for this kind review, We wish you every happiness and hope to see you again some day.

All the best from the staff and management at Amber Hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

great hotel! My brother and I took a trip from the states and stayed there on the 17th and 18th and we enjoyed staying there for 39 euro for a room. I was not planing on having breakfast there but after waking up early one morning i decided i would and the breakfast was ok, nothing exceptional but it was good and the free toast, coffee machine and lobby was a big plus. the owner/manager was very nice and waiting at the door for us as we arrived. Overall the place was very comfortable place to spend time and sleep. didnt see or use the pool so i cant comment on that. the t.v. in our room did not work but i didnt care to much because there was a nicer one in the comfortable lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Hi Jackson,
thank you for taking the time to write this review for Amber Hill. We were delighted to read you had a nice time here and hope to meet you both next tie you are in Galway.

Best of luck from all here at Amber hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I was given a single room which was real tiny but very nice and clean. The place is welcoming and I felt real comfortable during my whole stay. This BB is professionally run, the bulding has a great design and the breakfast is above average,

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Hi Isola,
thank you very much for this kind review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here and its great to read that you liked the breakfast.
We hope we will meet you again next time if you choose to visit Galway in the future.

Best of luck from all the staff here at Amber Hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This bed and breakfast was welcoming, clean, relaxing, and an amazing find in such a busy city! My husband and I stayed here with two other friends, and none of us could have asked for a better place to stay. The breakfast choices were great: traditional Irish or basic continental, and the prices were perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101LovetoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Thank you so much for this wonderful review of AmberHill, We were delighted to hear you had a good time here.
Its good to hear that breakfast went down well and we hope to meet you all again some day if you choose to visit Galway in the future.

Once again thank you and we wish you all every happiness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
10.4 km away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
228 reviews
1.1 km away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 189 in Galway
101 reviews
0.0 km away
Amber Heights Guesthouse
Amber Heights Guesthouse
#70 of 189 in Galway
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
888 reviews
5.5 km away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 189 in Galway
300 reviews
3.2 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: Amber Hill 12 Bishop o'Donnell Road Cuan Glas | Bishop O'Donnell Rd, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: ₹ 3,432 - ₹ 9,762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Hill is one of the best guesthouses in the Galway area. We always go the extra mile to ensure our guests have a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hill b&b
Amber Hill Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing