We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable, charming decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Achill Lodge Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Achill Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #139 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Canberra Australia
2 reviews
“Clean and comfortable, charming decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

made us very welcome, good breakfast. Rooms were spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanoK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Warm homely admosphere, Very clean airy rooms, Fabulous Breakfast, Great service throughout. Excellent choice !!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanGrobbelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

We recently stayed at Achill Lodge, the room was clean and had beautiful views. However, we found host to be rather cold and unwelcoming. We were flying out the following day, so we requested to print boarding passes, the request was declined with a sorry excuse.

Breakfast was adequate, but nothing special. You were not offered refills of juice or coffee, it was a very basic experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loving_Ireland_Dingl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

My partner and i stayed in Achill Lodge just for a break while it was lovely to get away it was a bit far from the main town but we didn mind as we had a car rooms where bright but very warm and had windows open all night and the heating wasnt even on one guy we met that worked their was not one bit nice as we asked for some sugar and he moaned the breakfast was okish was v small no beans and had to ask for toast wasnt the full irish we expected !! We where located by the balcony which made thr room smell of smoke as other visitors wher rite outside our window smoking overall it was ok was far too dear for what we got

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ames1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

We had a fantasic stay for 3 nights at the Achill Lodge- our family of 5. From our second story room, you looked over the road to a spectacular view of Galway Bay (the website pictures don't do it justice), and we could see many people swimming in the ocean (bay), as well as windsurfing, and in the far distance, the Aran Islands. Our wonderful hosts, Mike and Marie Dempsey, were very personable, and when asked went out of their way to tell us about local restaurants, churches, getting to the Burren and Cliffs of Moher, and ferry to the Aran Islands, and seemed genuinely interested in what we went to see, and whether we enjoyed it. This is a "purpose built" bed and breakfast- not a converted house, but a modern, fairly new building built as a bed and breakfast, with a large dining room and living room. Within a half mile, there is a large, American style grocery store, where we picked up picnic supplies to save a little money while touring the nearby Burren and Cliffs of Moher. Galway is a fascinating university city, with many pedestrian areas, and many of the guidebooks only recommend B&B's in town. This B&B is in the Salthill area, on the oceanfront, about 2 miles from Galway, and has a very nice "suburban" feel to it. The one downside is that there aren't really any restaurants within walking distance, but there are some toward Galway, or in Barna (about 2 miles). But the view of the ocean, the tremendous hospitality of the hosts, Mike and Marie, and the modern, clean feel of this place more than make up for it. As Americans who have been to continental Europe extensively, but never been to Ireland, we also stayed in B&B's in Waterford, Kinsale, and Tralee, Ireland, but this was by far the cleanest and nicest B&B, and had the friendliest hosts. Our two teenage sons stayed in a room that faced the back of the house, which did not have the view of the bay, but still had a pleasant view of the courtyard in the back, and was very quiet. The breakfast was fabulous, with a serious fresh fruit and yogurt option, which is a nice change of pace after all of the large Irish meat and egg breakfasts (which they also have here). I recommend this B&B very highly, and would gladly stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, breakfasts, hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 5carolinatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
12.2 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
3.7 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
4.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
1.5 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
3.1 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Achill Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: Achill Lodge 5 Cashelmara, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,650
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achill Lodge is lavishly laid out and comfortable throughout, each of the bedrooms have extra large en-suite bathrooms. There is no location more idyllic than this Lodge, where you can gaze out on the beautiful sunsets over the bay or watch spectacular water sports from our large balcony. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing