We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save yourself”
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No sink space/staging area for toiletries in bathroom, no currency conversion available at front desk, no computer access, however you do get fruit flies in the dining room. If you decide to extend your stay a day, you will be moved to an apartment down the street. Any ratings above poor for this hotel are delusional.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank uaairmisery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend and decided to have a few drinks in the bar while watching the Liverpool match. The bar tender was very poor and inattentive( gentleman in a white shirt think he might have been a manager was from Derry) my partner is a Liverpool fan and never offered to turn the tv up or anything nd when one of the younger bar men came on shift turned on the volume straight away for us(we didn’t even have to ask) but the other bar man came straight back over nd turned it of saying it had to be of. We also had to wait nearly 10 minute for a drink in which I had to draw attention to three staff members that I wanted a drink they were more interested in having a chat with each other than serving. We had to do it at least two time. The server in the white shirt seemed like he didn’t want to be there and made us feel unwelcome. Was more interested in an American couple that were there. We were made feel unwelcome never offered more to try keep our business even though we were spending nearly 400 Euro to stay for the weekend. It’s also a pity none of your staff have name badges on to know the names of staff, maybe you are afraid on being named on this. Also checking out was poor the girl never asked how was our stay(it was almost like she knew I wasn’t happy with the service from the nite before as she was in duty) overall I will not return I usually like staying here as you are one of the only hotels that had parking but I will not return but staff just let you down and didn’t seem to have proper training

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great parking and good position. That's all that's going for it. Had an issue with the booking and manager wouldn't even show his/her face! Poor amenities, no assistance, don't bother , there must be better for the price.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Our reservation was for two hotel rooms, but upon arrival we were upgraded to a 2-bedroom 2-bath apartment around the corner from the hotel. The apartment had a full kitchen, washer dryer, dining space and full living room with a great view of the city. The location was next to an indoor shopping mall and a short walk from the Latin Quarter as well as the Bus terminal. An extra bonus was the Thursday night jam session of Irish music at the pub connected to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We based at the Western for 3 nights while in Galway. The hotel is very centrally located to the city centre and an easy walk there on on to the pier & even Salthill. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. All staff were friendly, efficient and accommodating. We had a couple of meals, one in the restaurant and the other at the bar. Both were very well prepared, presented and loaded with taste and flavours. And very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Arrive early for a good car park space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robjac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,040 reviews
0.2 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,866 reviews
0.2 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#27 of 46 in Galway
644 reviews
0.7 km away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#31 of 46 in Galway
64 reviews
0.6 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#16 of 46 in Galway
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Address: 33 Prospect Hill (off Eyre Square), Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: ₹ 4,494 - ₹ 15,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing