We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel very central”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice hotel very central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel with family and a visitor from Canada on St Patrick's weekend. We got a good deal. The hotel is clean and the staff were friendly and very helpful. It is more like a large guest house/inn so there is a more personal vibe to it. our room wasn't very big but it was perfect for our needs. the bathroom was quite spacious. The restaurant is lovely and they offer dinner deals for a great price. There was plenty to choose from on the menu and the food was tasty.Breakfast was excellent. Lots of fresh fruit and again an abundance of choice including a full Irish or pancakes. The hotel is about 40 metres from Eyre Square so it is very central. the bar is comfortable and has a nice relaxed atmosphere. I would go back.

Room Tip: we asked for a bathroom with a bath and the bathroom was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alihann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    327
    113
    54
    42
See reviews for
200
309
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

These apartments are part of The Western in Galway. We booked 2 apartments for our stay in April. They were spotless and beautifully decorated. We were right off the main square, the location was great. For the price these accomodations could not be beat! Because they are apartments they do not have the same cleaning services as the hotel but they are fully functional apartments. I booked through booking.com and got a very good rate. The photos on the website are exactly how the apartments look.

There was a small pub, I believe the Merry Fiddler right across the street. They have great Irish Coffee and wonderful live music. Very enjoyable!

Room Tip: Apartment 7 has a beautiful terrace but fills up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parma, italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had booked two rooms for two nights. On the first night it was difficult to sleep, though we were at second floor, because there was a party in the tavern. We complained and found the Manager of the hotel really keen on listening and finding a positive solution, given there would be another party on the second night as well. She placed us in a very quiet apartment across the street. Great reaction, very much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceciliaParma_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My boyfriend stayed here in May 2009 while I was with a group from college traveling around Ireland for 2 and a half weeks. I spent one night with him here, and it was a great hotel. I felt safe there and the rooms were very large for Europe. It also had a very deep bathtub that after having to shower in very sketchy showers (and sometimes not showering at all!) felt like heaven!

The hotel was clean, neat, and very close to the Sleepzone hostel where I was staying. My boyfriend picked it based on its proximity to where I would be staying, and it turned out to be a perfect place!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonouraryBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Nice clean hotel with friendly hotel staff, the building itself had some character, location is very close to eyre square

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lackastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.2 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
2.2 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
3.2 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Property: The Western Hotel
Address: The Western Hotel 33 Prospect Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,223 - ₹ 15,299
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing