We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a great little place and central local for sightseeing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almara House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Almara House
Ranked #11 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such a great little place and central local for sightseeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Matt and Marie were great, and what seems like a little place was awesome. This is one B&B we will definitely visit again. Easy drive to Connemara and City Centre. Thank you both for a great visit

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    44
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
52
130
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

My husband and I were booking our accommodations in Galway rather last minute and we found Almara House via the Bed and Breakfast Ireland website. I sent them a direct enquiry via e-mail and got a very welcoming reply.

The B&B is located in a small development off the main highway. We found it no problem thanks to an Ordnance Map of Galway (always good to have!!) and Google maps, which showed us the exact location and a picture of the B&B.

Matt and Marie were very helpful recommending pubs in town and letting us use their phone.

There are actually very few B&Bs located in the city centre, so we didn't mind having to commute a few minutes into town. Getting into the centre of Galway was very simple. We drove to a car park and spent very little on parking. The bus also stops near to the house.

Matt and Marie have made every effort to provide what they think their guests need (e.g. the only B&B we stayed at that had hair dryers in the rooms!).

You MUST have Marie's porridge! She soaks the oats the night before and includes honey and a shot of Bailey's on the side. It is spectacular!!

We truly were welcomed into the family and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtaggart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

My family of four stayed with Matt and Marie in December, and must say we thoroughly enjoyed their accommodation, and wonderful choice of breakfasts including our favourite
Eggs Benedict with Hollandaise. The rooms offered fluffy towels and toiletries, and I loved the feel of the soft Duvets and memory foam pillows. We have wonderful memories of Almara House. Our GPS refused to work while we were in Galway and Marie kindly offered us the use of her Sat Nav.





us hers

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Was hard to find to start with. Room needs some update. Breskfast not too bad and very friendly owners.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 153Walt_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We enjoyed our stay with Matt and Marie, who are very friendly and helpful, and have a lovely, extremely clean home, 5 min drive from Galway City center, and famous Quay St., in the Latin Quarter. My husband and I, as well as our adult children, found the ensuite rooms and beds to be quite comfortable, tho our bathroom was a bit small but fine. Matt escorted us to our rooms on the 2nd floor, and requested that we fill out our preferences for breakfast. The Eggs Benedict, and all other choices were perfectly done, and we all enjoyed our stay. Our children also enjoyed the dance clubs on Quay St. till the wee hours, filled with college students and young adults..they liked Galway the best! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie92_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
3.4 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
2.8 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
10.2 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.5 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
5.5 km away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almara House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almara House

Property: Almara House
Address: Almara House 2 Merlin Park Merlin Gate | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,372 - ₹ 11,805
Hotel Class:4 star — Almara House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an elegant AA 4 star family residence. Guide du Routard, National Geographic, Arthur Frommers, and The Italian Touring Guide recommended. Contemporary Rooms with complimentary WI-FI, Fridge, Hospitality Tray, Mineral Water, Hairdryer and choice from our Extensive Breakfast Menu. Located in the city suburbs just 5 minutes drive from the City Centre. Tours to The Cliffs of Moher and Connemara can be organized and you are collected from our Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Almara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing