We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we could want in a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Galway
home
Level Contributor
292 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Everything we could want in a hotel.”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our 3 nights here were great- comfy we upgraded and had a huge room also suitable for less abled people-- which was perfect for me --not having to climb into a shower or bath!!.Breakfast was really nice and a good choice-- but would have preffered to eat it from a hot plate!!. Parking was free underneath the hotel. We taxied in and out of town rather than walk but always came back at night to eat, bar meals were the best tasting and value ever --and we have sampled many over the years.The bar staff were so friendly and spoke about my husbands"team" from the top he was wearing,we really needed another few nights to work our way through the sandwich/wrap menu. would stay again and will tell anybody we know who is visiting the beautiful city of Galway!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Janice

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedack after your recent stay with us at Pillo Hotel & Spa Galway.
Your comments are highly valued and are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we thank you for recommending our hotel.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Audrey Keane
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    416
    193
    79
    34
See reviews for
195
530
51
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventnor, IoW
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I've been staying at this hotel twice a month for 3/4 nights a time, for the past 6-8 months. And that's after trying 3 other hotels in the area first - which tells its own story ......... I keep using the Pillo Hotel in Galway for the following reasons:

* Good size, modern and clean rooms - I've seen a good few of them!
* Great service, friendly and helpful approach by all the staff
* Food is good in both restaurant and the bar area. Good & wide breakfast choice everyday
* Convenience - on busy road, but you can't hear it + free, safe, underground parking
* The SPA is of high quality - a welcome and useful extra for the Hotel

I have no hesitation is recommending the Pillo most highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ventnor_IoWBobB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Ventnor _loWBobB

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback regarding your experience at Pillo Hotel & Spa Galway.

Your comments are highly valued and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoy our service and hospitality at Pillo Hotel & Spa. Your compliments have been shared with the entire team at the hotel.

It is always our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Pillo Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any assistance whatsoever.

Kind regards

Audrey Keane
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

stayed Good Friday. lovely big twin room with 2 doubles beds, very comfy. food was great. We got a really good deal. it's much nicer inside than you would think from the outside. staff friendly. recommend it great value

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eilish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

location not great. Staff really friendly especially in the spa

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My friend and I spent a wonderful weekend at the Pillo Hotel a few weeks ago. The room was large, very clean and very, very comfortable - we both felt we had the best night's sleep we'd had in weeks. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel wasn't located too far from Eyre Square - about fifteen minutes' walk, although there were plenty of amenities nearby and as it's on such a busy road, we didn't feel unsafe. There were also lots of taxis waiting outside of the hotel (it was about six to eight euros to Eyre Square). We would definitely stay here again, and were sad to leave!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhiannonbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PilloHotel, Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Rhiannonbee

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Pillo Hotel & Spa. Your comments are highly valued and have been shared with the entire team at Pillo Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted to hear that you experienced your best nights sleep that you have had in weeks at Pillo Hotel & Spa!
It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance you may require from our side.

Kind regards

Audrey Keane
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
8.0 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.9 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
2.2 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
4.0 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
1.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,096 - ₹ 14,442
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing