We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic service”
Review of Clybaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clybaun Hotel
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

I'm a regular customer in the hotel. Can't praise the staff enough the most friendly and helpful people you'll come across, one in particular named Kelly who always serves with a smile and is a pleasure to be around. The food itself is amazing could never fault it and the lovely manager nouman always ensures we're been taking care of

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Leona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClybaunHotel1, Manager at Clybaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
It's always pleasing to hear from repeat and regular customers like yourself.
Our food has made a big impression over your many visits but it's our staff that really stand out the most.
Both Kelly and Nouman in particular will be thrilled with your kind feedback and we hope to see you back in the Clybaun again very soon!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

The entrance to the hotel is beautiful. Staff extremely helpful. Pool and gym area so clean. The room was a good size, very clean and beds were comfortable. Our double room had a double bed plus a 3/4 bed. The only negative was that the shower hot water was not piping hot. Other than that, we could not fault this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClybaunHotel1, Manager at Clybaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
We're delighted with your "Fantastic Hotel" review.
Thank you for sharing such positive feedback about your recent stay with us.
Every element of the Clybaun Hotel impressed and we look forward to hopefully hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Clybaun on a 4 day break to Galway. The receptionist who booked us in was really helpful and courteous. We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant where there is an excellent choice of cold and hot foods including freshly made porridge. We also had dinner most evenings in the hotel bar where there is an excellent choice of food available. All of the bar and waiting staff are polite, courteous, efficient and very pleasant.
The bedroom was very comfortable and, like the rest of the establishment, was kept spotlessly clean. Whilst there was an ample supply of hot water, the bath is above the shower and this may not suit everyone. The only slight negative is the lighting which is poor for applying makeup.
The hotel is located a short distance from the city centre and it costs around €14in a taxi. However it is near Salthill and is a lovely quiet location with ample free parking.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mariontb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClybaunHotel1, Manager at Clybaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
From check-in to check-out it's very evident that you had a wonderful stay with us here at the Clybaun Hotel.
Our friendly reception team, our breakfast offering and the standard of our bedrooms all ensured a great hotel getaway.
Our location with its proximity to both Eyre Square and Salthill and our ample free parking being the other main benefits of staying with us when visiting Galway.
We hope to see you back again very soon!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Food was very tasty & staff were very polite & friendly. As we were on a time restraint of less than an hour, we were conscious of being served in reasonable time especially as the hotel bar was very busy due to a function. However, much to our delight we were served efficiently & all together even though half were getting dinners & the rest just sandwiches.
We will be going here alot more for lunch-time, very impressed.

The hotel also were very generous & donated a voucher for a recent fundraiser we had in our company.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yvonne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClybaunHotel1, Manager at Clybaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
It's always a pleasure to host local companies like yours for lunch or any other events.
Your compliments about our food and service are greatly appreciated.
We realise that with a limited period of free time fast and efficient service is the most important trait you look for in a venue so we're glad we matched and exceeded expectations.
We look forward to hosting you many more times in the coming weeks and months!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel foyer is very welcoming and creates a very good first impression on arrival. The rest of the hotel doesn't disappoint either - we stayed in a family room which was spacious, clean and tidy with a television, tea and coffee making facilities and good bathroom facilities.

We had our evening meal in the Bistro Bar and the waiting staff took extra care with my wife who's a coeliac and my son who has a peanut allergy to ensure their meal was to the their dietary requirements. There was a good selection of food on offer which catered for all members of my family and the waiting staff were very attentive indeed so you'll want to tip them for their excellent service.

Two of my teenage sons were with us who were very impressed with the weights room and while I didn't avail of any of the facilities there is also a good sized swimming pool and jacuzzi, steam room and aerobics facilities to be enjoyed by guests.

In the middle of the night however we were abruptly interrupted by the occupants of the adjacent hotel room who managed to access our hotel room with their plastic key card. Following this the same occupants continued to be noisy and so I complained to reception at approx 03:45.

Early next morning I also spoke to the hotel manager when he arrived into the hotel and explained the events of our night to him. As a gesture of goodwill for our inconvenience he offered me and my family a full Irish breakfast compliments of the hotel which was accepted and appreciated.

For me the real test of any establishment is how issues are handled as and when they arise and I must say I felt the hotel on this occasion handled our issue in a fair, straightforward and friendly manner.

I would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jim88up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClybaunHotel1, Manager at Clybaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review.
We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed a brilliant stay with us here at the Clybaun Hotel.
The standard of our accommodation offering ensured the perfect welcome to our property.
Our leisure facilities were as equally impressive with both your sons in particular making the most of our NRG club.
Your family meal in O'Gorman's Bar & Bistro also went very well with our helpful and friendly staff ensuring your family had a great night without having to worry about issues with dietary requirements.
We also appreciate your compliments for our management staff who acted in a professional manner in dealing with noise concerns.
However we would like to point out again no other guest accessed your bedroom based on both our secure room card system but also backed up by our CCTV footage.
We hope to welcome you back again for another stay in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.0 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,242 reviews
3.6 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,748 reviews
3.6 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,606 reviews
4.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
12.2 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clybaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clybaun Hotel

Address: Clybaun Road | Knocknacarra, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Galway
#6 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: ₹ 4,660 - ₹ 11,584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clybaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the Bright Lights of Galway city and the Relaxing Seaside resort of Salthill, the hotel is ideally located for guests wishing to enjoy a fun filled day in Galway or a chilled out day in Salthill. The hotel offers great leisure facilities and easy access to Connemara, the Aran Islands and the 'Best of the West'. The Clybaun Hotel is a bright, spacious hotel with excellent leisure and relaxation facilities. The NRG Leisure Centre features an indoor heated swimming pool, a gym, a steam room and a sauna, as well as an indoor whirlpool and an outdoor Canadian hot tub. There are a variety of Adult & Children activity classes daily (fee). In addition, the NRGize beauty clinic offers a variety of beauty treatments, using luxury products. The Hotel is a non-smoking hotel and as such smoking is restricted to specific areas. There are 92 spacious en-suite guest rooms, with cable TV, telephone, Hair Dryer, Tea/Coffee facilities. O'Gorman's Bar & Bistro offers all day dining, with very relaxed and comfortable surroundings. The Maritime Restaurant offers both Table D'Hote and A La carte menu options. Al fresco dining is also available in the decked garden area, weather permitting. In addition, lobby service is also available. Free Wi-Fi is offered throughout the hotel. A warm welcome awaits you and yours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clybaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clybaun Hotel Knocknacarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing