We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,093)
Filter reviews
3,093 results
Traveller rating
2,104
705
192
60
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,104
705
192
60
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eyre square car park train station deluxe room wonderful hotel central location galway city comfortable hotel breakfast was included would highly recommend this hotel pubs and restaurants top class full irish breakfast shop street yogurt scones aran islands
Filter
Updating list...
1,252 - 1,257 of 3,093 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2015

We stayed one night in late May. We originally booked for 2, but left early to get to Newgrange for an early admission in the morning.

Our booking included parking and breakfast. As others have reviewed, the traffic and construction around the hotel is terrible. The Park sent us via e-mail instructions how to get to the hotel and they were right on and led us to the parking lot at the back of the hotel. There are 2 parking options, a valet at the back of the hotel and the Europa public car park right next to the hotel. If you are directed to the Europa, go in through the first level and then up to the second level as close to the door as possible. This is closest to the hotel and you exit under a covered walkway on street level with 50 yards/meters of the hotel. There is a back entrance to the hotel where, on exit, you have your parking card validated.

We walked through the lobby to the front entrance and were greeted with the news that makes all travelers happy, "you've been upgraded." Contrary to other reviews, our upgrade was outstanding and it is probably not fair to compare it with standard rooms. It was clean, comfortable, and well maintained. Our room overlooked the back parking lot and was very quiet. Breakfast the next morning was served in one of two rooms. In the smaller room, there was no buffet for cereal and drinks etc. and the only fault of our experience was that our waitress did not advise us about the buffet.

The public rooms were well cared for with staff greeting and looking to serve you as requested. It was very comfortable but, with smaller rooms for the reception area, bar, restaurants and the lobby, it was best described as chopped up. This is only a description, not a criticism of an existing building.

Eyre Square is a short block from the hotel and the walking area just past that. For location, it would be as good as any in Galway, and if you are driving, with parking included, the value is very high.

If we ever to return to Galway, we we stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Stayed 2 night B & B + Dinner deal -very good value - food as usual ( we have stayed before) super - great to have Free parking & WifI - only drawback -no pool
Great location -in the heart of the city & next to public transport - fab staff - great welcome
Very spacious room - we will be back hopefully

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank denis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Our room was clean, spacious enough, and the overall hotel was wonderful. Extra special appreciation goes to the waitstaff in the restaurant and bar area. They were attentive and efficient all the while beng friendly. We found plenty of pubs with great live music each night all within a short stumble distance to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We booked this hotel for two nights but only stayed one because we didn't want to ruin our short break away by staying any longer in Faulty Towers. We had booked this hotel because we saw all the great reviews on tripadvisor. Well one thing I will say is, either the hotel is paying people to write false reviews or people are thinking of the wrong hotel when writing the reviews. We arrived, after battling the ridiculous traffic layout, to a cold reception from the staff at front desk who acted as if we were an inconvience to them. They took money from my credit card without my permission, instead of the usual credit card swipe in any other hotel in the 21st century. Ok we got over that. Our room was like a cave, dark and dirty. We can deal with that also. So we got out and explored Galway, a great city so many bars and cafes it really was enjoyable city.. then eventually we had to return to the dreaded park house for the night. Sleep was not available as the beds had springs sticking up, constant noise and the heat in the room was just ridiculous. So after very little sleep we trudged down for breakfast. Food was average. service was poor, and the woman that kept hovering over us was just strange, I think she was a manger of some type as she wasn't wearing a uniform. We packed our bags and left. No chance of a refund but we didn't care once we got out of that creepy time warp. Stay anywhere but here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
17  Thank irish901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

There was nothing that wasn't absolutely perfect about our stay at the park house. We were welcomed by quite possibly the friendliest man in Ireland, Patrick. We were family the moment we walked through the door. The park house was elegant, classy, warm and welcoming. The staff was beyond accommodating and helpful. From the moment we checked in we were acknowledged as residents and treated like royalty. We were specifically grateful for the treatment we received from Patrick, Kitty, Bruno and Jacob. This hotel passed all expectations we had with flying colors. Not to mention you cant find a place with a better location. The parking was onsite, valet, and free. There is no better place in Galway- you absolutely MUST stay at the park house.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zambraski4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews