We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice HIDDEN Gem”
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We really enjoyed the accomodations at this hotel. We did B&B's everywhere but in Galway, and we really enjoyed the luxury of this hotel, even if for just one night. I will say it was hard to find on our first drive through the city, but then the city spit us out and re-routed us to the semi-secret entrance for the parking garage. Beware that you might have to look twice for parking, even though you can see the hotel right on the street.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madsenlizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,964 - 1,968 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

Located less than a hundred yards from both the train station and Eyre Square this is an excellent choice especially if you arrive by train. The old part of town is less than a five minute walk away - on the west side of Eyre Square.
The room we spent two nights in was large and while it faced onto a rather ugly alley was very quite. We selected an upgraded room which is something I do not think I would do again but that is only because I did not see much difference between it and the regular rooms save that it was a bit larger. We enjoyed a dinner in the dinning room and drinks in the bar though the bar is rather low key compared to others in town. If you rent a car, as we did, it is a fairly easy location to get in and out of town from as many of the streets in the vicinity are one way including the street the hotel fronts on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jsthouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel my cousin and I actually got last minute because we had to change our itinerary. I am so glad we did because this was a catch! The hotel is clean, elegant, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They arranged for us to get a cab to go to the cliffs of moher because we arrived to late for the tour bus. The hotel is also in city centre which made it easy to get around. The rooms were also quite big which was nice. Defintely would go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights last week. Excellent location within walking distance of all the restaurants, shops and Eyre Square. The staff was very lovely and helpful in all our requests, offering umbrellas when it rained, changing our money to euros and giving directions/suggestions to places when we asked. Our room was nice, clean and I loved the towel warmer. The breakfast was very hearty and good selection choice every morning. It was so convenient to both the train station coming from Dublin and adjacent to the bus station when going to the airport. There's a pub called the Pucan across the street that had lovely music and dancers every night. There's also a Centra market across the street that was convenient for stamps, postcards, and food/snacks. Can't wait to return to Galway, one of my most favorite cities in Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandradot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We had a terrific stay at the Park House Hotel in Galway. We stayed two nights. The hotel is centrally located, almost on Eyre Square, so close to shopping, restaurants and pubs. When we arrived, the hotel parking lot was full and we stayed for free at the adjacent City Center lot. We were able to park at the hotel the second night. The hotel parking lot is quite small and so parking is by valet; but the service is good and it's free and close - hard to beat in that location.

As we were checking in, we were greeted by a charming lady dressed in a black suit (Kitty) who offered us complimentary tea and scones. These really "hit the spot". The staff was very friendly and helpful during our entire stay. Kitty in particular went out of her way to ensure we were having an enjoyable time and provided us with brochures and suggestions for our day trips, and better seating when we decided to have dinner in the bar the second night.

Our room was toward the back and was very quiet, which was appreciated, since the front of the hotel is located on a busy street with many pubs. It was very large, with a double and a single bed, a safe in a very large closet and a large bathroom. We also had bathrobes and slippers, plus complimentary bottled water and chocolates (a nice touch). The room was in great condition. Also, there is free wifi in the room.

The front desk provided us with great suggestions for dinner (Artisan - see separate review) and for a local pub. This was Murty Rabbit's Bar, which was actually across the street. We went there after dinner, since they had live traditional Irish Music and the band (fiddle, accordian & guitar) that night was truly outstanding. We were told that this is the oldest pub in Galway. I would recommend this pub for sure. The second night we decided to eat at the hotel bar restaurant. They have an upscale restaurant with a nice menu and then more casual fare in the bar, where there is actually extensive seating. The food we had was excellent as was the service and we were glad of the recommendation from the front desk. We ended up in a booth near the bar on a crowded Friday night and had a great time.

The hotel has a good buffet continental breakfast, along with an a la carte hot breakfast to order. We ordered the Irish Breakfast and porridge, both of which were excellent. Overall, the hotel looks very elegant and has a large lounge area behind the front desk with a small bar. There is also a back entrance from the parking lot.

If you are looking for a nice hotel in Galway with great rooms, service and staff, look no further than the Park House.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are toward the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
7.5 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,767 reviews
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#6 of 46 in Galway
2,076 reviews
3.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
3.2 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,674 reviews
4.5 km away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Address: Park House Hotel 18 Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#2 Family Hotel in Galway
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: ₹ 8,164 - ₹ 14,865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing