We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,030)
Filter reviews
2,030 results
Traveller rating
769
649
381
156
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
769
649
381
156
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club connaught hotel leisure centre busy hotel family break big hotel family hotel swimming pool bar food lovely hotel reception staff food was lovely galway city few drinks galway races last weekend both nights
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 2,030 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This was our 3rd or 4th time staying here and it really is fantastic. The Italian restaurant is no longer attached but the bar/restaurant food is great. I really is ideal place for kids, big comfy family room. The pool is perfect too, not too deep for smallies that can't swim yet. Also the Wi-Fi was brilliant. Would definitely recommend

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Corklady09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, I was glad to see that your family enjoyed their visit to Galway and we hope to see you at The Connacht again soon,
Warm regards
Mark Cronin
Deputy GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Stayed for a night over the Easter holidays with our 3 year old. Great hotel for families. Made to feel very welcome by all of the staff.
The rooms were nice, good size, bathrooms a little small but all clean.
Excellent swimming pool area. Large enough that even in school holidays it wasn't uncomfortably busy.
Enjoyed an evening meal in the bar, great atmosphere. Food a little boring but tasty and cooked well. Good kids menu.
Breakfast was good, we must have arrived early so no queues and full buffet with everything you could imagine.
We'll be back.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jo_2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and we look forward to seeing you back at The Connacht again soon,

Warm regards

Mark Cronin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Nice hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was fine, quiet, comfy bed, nice bathroom (though toilet didn't flush very well). I really liked the fact that we could open the window slightly to let in some fresh air. We did not take breakfast and I was happy we decided not to as the queues were just incredible every morning for breakfast. Also, was not so keen on the dining area, there are no windows and it is right by the bar. We did have dinner there one night and it was nice, prices are very reasonable. The hotel was very busy, lots of families with children. Location is very good for Galway city, nice easy walk.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 188angelaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Angela,

Thank you for sharing your balanced feedback on your recent stay with us.
I was pleased to note that our staff made a positive impression. Your comments regarding our facilities are appreciated and we hope to see you in The Connacht again soon,
Warm regards
Mark Cronin
Deputy GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel is super, rooms spotless, food super, staff friendly, gym & pool Great, I will return to this hotel again be for the end of the year, stayed 3 nights and was gutted leaving it, my 7 year old loved the kids club and it give me a wee break to enjoy the restaurant & a few drinks, recommend to anyone

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Sharon,
Thank you very much for your generous feedback.It was particularly pleasing to hear that your family enjoyed your Easter break in The Connacht.
Again thank you for your review and your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon,
Warm regards
Mark Cronin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Connacht.
At the outset it’s worth pointing out that this is an absolutely huge hotel that is extremely busy. At times the place felt like an airport terminal rather than a hotel given the volume of people on site. So if you’re after a quiet break,this may not be the hotel for you.
The place has the feel of a property that has outgrown the facilities the bar and foyer area can provide. Huge queues of up to 20 minutes for breakfast are treated as the norm. Would it not be worth using one of the function rooms close to the dining areas for especially busy weekends rather than having large queues forming in the morning when people are hungry (and grumpy)?
The swimming pool is excellent although the ladies changing area was very cold.
We also found it difficult to get a constant flow of hot water in our room,which even though was billed as a superior family room we found to be quite small.
We also had to wait for over an hour to check in to our room,even though it was 4:30 before we arrived.
The staff are superb and very friendly, with the food being average hotel fare.
The Hotel has the potential to be a terrific place,but is let down by small things

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Zooprune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very balanced review of your recent stay, It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.
Your comments have been shared with the parties concerned.
I was particularly pleased to note that our staff made an impression during your stay.
Once again thank you for your review and we hopefully will see you at The Connacht again soon,
Warm regards
Mark Cronin
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews