We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Option in Galway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Best Option in Galway”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This was a good hostel to stay at. There are lockers available for luggage, and the washrooms are large enough and clean. The kitchen area is very large with lots of seating.

This was the first hostel I stayed at where I had to ask to switch rooms - not due to the room, but the person sharing it. The hostel was excellent with handing this and gave me another room right away - mind you the hostel was not full at the time.

It gets very busy on the weekends with students, so plan around this by booking early or coming during the week.

Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ground floor - drunk students will ruin your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    196
    64
    17
    22
See reviews for
32
59
103
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The best parts of staying at this Sleepzone were the helpful, friendly staff and the location - super close to the main square and bus station. I stayed in a private room in an apartment-like setting with a couple who had the other room. We shared a bathroom as well as a kitchen and living space. I wasn't in the hostel that much, but it was very clean and the common area in the main part of the hostel was fun - lots of people at the common tables and cooking in the kitchen. My only real complaint was that the door to my private room had window slats in it - they were obscured, but let in light (luckily my apartment mates weren't up late) and a little open, which didn't feel super secure. Other than that, though, it was a great place to stay for my short to trip to Galway.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The location is excellent, near bus station and pubs!! The rooms are fine, and the kitchen has everything you need!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foyboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This was the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. Had a lovely 2 nights here. The location could not be more perfect, a few minutes walk from all attractions, the staff went out of their way to be helpful (each and every one of them but a special thanks to the little French girl who always made sure that everything was ok). Nothing was too much trouble for them. The kitchen facilities were superb (tea and coffee always available) and the little seating areas were so cosy. Even though the hostel was fully booked on both nights I stayed, guests still got personal attention and helpful information when required. Definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyWexfordIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was our first stay in a hostel and we were surprised at how clean the rooms are and how quiet it was at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshnedaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,428 reviews
0.4 km away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 54 in Galway
590 reviews
0.3 km away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 54 in Galway
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepzone Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Property: Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Address: Bothar Na Mban | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,587 - ₹ 9,308
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepzone Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepzone is Galway's leading hostel for over a decade. Much imitated but still not matched! Leading hostel in Galway on TripAdvisor. Clean, safe, friendly - and always great value for money. Daily discounted tours to Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher with Galway Tour Company departing from our front door daily. Free internet and Free Wifi (with international socketing). Superb, fully-equipped self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sleepzone Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing