We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not for couples”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, but not for couples”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This would be fine if you are a family or a large group but it is not for couples or anyone looking for peace and quiet. The facilities are good, rooms clean and generously sized. Food is fine although some of the combinations of flavors on the plate where strange and unless you want to be part of a scrum avoid breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear ‘Travel69’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and your positive feedback is most welcome. Recently our newly appointed, award winning Executive Chef and his newly appointed brigade have remodeled and upgraded all menus and food product in the hotel and the feedback we are receiving from our regular and repeat guests, both resident and non resident is phenomenal. Also, the local newspapers and trade magazines speak very highly regarding the food product and its quality. I receive approximately 250 pieces of guest feedback on a weekly basis and the consistent feedback regarding our breakfast product is superb – in fact we were the proud winners of ‘Best Breakfast in Ireland’ last year.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,962
    578
    265
    76
    44
See reviews for
821
1,022
106
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

we had a lovely Easter break for two nights here and found the food was excellent
and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank con L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear ‘conl_l’,

Thank you for taking the time to post your views regarding your recent stay and for sharing your positive views with all trip advisor viewers. Thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel and all on the team are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and I have passed your views on to all on the team – all have requested that I pass on to you a very sincere thank you! Your positive feedback regarding the excellent food is most pleasing as our Executive Chef and his brigade have restructured all menus in the recent past which are receiving superb feedback from guests.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Went with a group of friends for the weekend. Hotel was lovely, we had a huge room. Staff were superb and certainly went the extra mile. Hotel is well located beside Salthill Promenade and only a short journey to the city. Didn't get to try out the leisure centre but it looked nice. Will definetly be back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eimeargDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear ‘eimeargDublin’,

Thank you for posting this review and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently.

I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding the superb staff – it certainly is very rewarding and a great boost to morale. It is a shame that you did not get to use the leisure facilities but I do hope that you had to opportunity to walk the promenade here on our doorstep – our numerous repeat guests call it our natural leisure centre.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to us at some stage in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2012

excellent hotel...great location....professional staffs...probably you can not get better than this in galway....we went in March 2012 and very satisfied with our stay..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandra_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear ‘tandra_g’,

Thank you for your feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. All on the team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your positive feedback regarding the excellent hotel, great location and professional staff is most welcome and all on the team pass on to you a very sincere thank you.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at the Galway Bay hotel this Easter and really enjoyed our visit. The location overlooking the bay was great and the views stunning which could also be appreciated on the large terrace or from the conservatory. We were lucky enough to have good weather and walks along the bay were very scenic, alternatively a short drive, bus or taxi would get you into the town. We booked a superior room and it was both spacious and very tastefully furnished, not to mention the extremely comfortable bed. There was a bar, restaurant and coffee shop/cafe and food was very good in all of them. A key point was that we found all of the staff to be super helpful and friendly, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
3.1 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
4.6 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
2.4 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
2.8 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Property: Galway Bay Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,724 - ₹ 16,156
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing