We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable location, but don't expect too much”
Review of Eyre Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eyre Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Reasonable location, but don't expect too much”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Many of the other reviews seem to sum up this hotel pretty well.

The location is undeniably excellent, just off Eyre Square adjacent to the bus and rail stations. The city centre is about five minutes walk away.

The rooms itself was reasonably comfortable, but it was at best out-dated and a bit shabby and at worst it could arguably have been cleaner. This said, the bed was fine, good shower, and nice to have tea and coffee making facilities.

I did not hear any noise from the nightclub. However, I was awoken at 4am by an astonishing amount of banging on some nearby door (maybe even mine) and was then kept awake by the next room having a rowdy conversation so maybe the walls are a little thin.

All in all, it was kind of OK for the (cheap cheap) price but I might look around if I were to return again. (The An Pucan bar opposite was excellent, incidentally.)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aber_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    188
    165
    76
    88
See reviews for
91
240
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This isn't so much a hotel, as a stack of room built on top of a nightclub. Ok, it's not actually on Eyre Square (but it's close), but the location is great. However nothing else is. The staff look bored and couldn't care less. The rooms are basic but clean. However the noise is something else.

I stayed on the 4th floor and and around midnight the pipes above me in the attic started to rattle and shake. Within five minutes it was trying to sleep in the hold of a ship. Then the nightclub started up. I rang reception, but the man say he could do nothing. An hour later I asked to move rooms. The nightclub stopped at 2.30 am and when I went downstairs to get my key, reception was full of drunk kids. It was a Monday. In January. Stay clear.

Room Tip: Stay clear unless you are deaf or 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yezir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

First of all, it is not on Eyre square, but just off it.
On arrival we were vaguely greeted and given keys to the rooms. The rooms were in poor decor but relatively clean, and the shower was powerful and refreshing.
Despite being a 3 star hotel, I have stayed in the 5 star harbour hotel previously for cheaper.....???
The food in the bar was good, but the breakfast was absolutely terrible. The eggs could have been used for clay pidgeons, and I nearly broke a tooth on something in the sausage, the fry up components were not quality items.

Having a 24hr reception, you leave the key behind as you go out. On returning, I asked for key 215, sorry no, 315. The reception person gave me any key I asked without challenge. My collegues did likewise, this is a disturbing scenario if you are going to leave valuables in the room.

At 5am Sunday morning, I woke to a disturbance from other guests which lasted far too long before the night porter came up to sort, hence very little sleep.
On leaving, I was charged for a room (twin) despite being the solo occupant, so I would ask for clarification from them as they quote pps too.

Overall, I would not stay again, and prefer to opt for the tent city of anti government hippies at the other end of Eyre Square.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Excellent value, great location. Bit old-fashioned but all the better for that. Best value in Galway city by far.

Room Tip: With a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ithought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We were lucky to find this lovely hotel. Rooms were EXCELLENT! Clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast (Irish fry up) was fine. Location is almost literally next door to the bus station and a short walk to the main walking street in town. So the location is fantastic. Staff was very helpful but could have been a tad friendlier for my tastes. No worries though. We had a great stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HerbalTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 45 in Galway
607 reviews
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.1 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#32 of 45 in Galway
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,824 reviews
0.2 km away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 45 in Galway
476 reviews
0.6 km away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#29 of 45 in Galway
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eyre Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eyre Square Hotel

Property: Eyre Square Hotel
Address: 35 Eyre Square | On the Corner of Eyre Square, Beside the Main bus and Rail Station., Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,689 - ₹ 13,446
Hotel Class:3 star — Eyre Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eyre Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eyre Square Galway
Hotel Eyre Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing