We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what we expected.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

To start we found the staff very helpful and accommodating. The room was large enough and quiet but lacked any real design and was not the type of room you wanted to come back to relax in at the end of the day. We ate in the bar and had the breakfast and neither were particularly memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear 'Richard U',

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us.

While we welcome your tripadvisor feedback, we would very much welcome the opportunity to speak with you in person so that we can discuss in more detail with you. Customer satisfaction and customer service is very important to us. If you would like to make contact with us, please ask for our duty manager.

It is unfortunate that the decor of the room assigned to you was not to your taste. Should you be returning to Galway and wish to book with us again, we can ensure to assign an alternative room type to you.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that we will hear further from you.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    380
    178
    95
    59
See reviews for
340
516
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Have used this hotel on a few occasions we love the lobby where you can sit and relax, read or just watch the world go bye. The rooms are very nice, comfortable and relaxing. We have found the staff to be very obliging and helpful and are willing to help if at all possible. The food is lovely and at affordable prices. It's only a 15 minute walk to the city cnt where you can go shopping, sight seeing or just while the time away at your leisure. The hotel is oldish but very clean and comfortable and we enjoy our breaks away there. Nice jym, and spa for the woman in your life she will enjoy being spoilt by the staff who ensure that she relaxes and enjoys her time with them. We have recommended this hotel to family and friends and are happy that they too have enjoyed their stay here. We will be back again later in the year and look forward to meeting the wonderful friendly staff and the relaxation that we enjoy so much there.

Room Tip: Just tell reception what you would like and they will do their best to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariegold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear 'mariegold1',

We are truely delighted to have had you as our guest in the past and look forward to welcoming you back again later this year.

Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We are very pleased to know that you enjoy your 'Ardilaun experience'. At all times we focus on our guest to ensure that they leave the hotel having had a most memorable time with us. Feedback like yours is always very valuable and welcomed.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

When we started looking around for a hotel to hold our reception in, we sifted through all the obvious choices in Galway. The Ardilaun was immeditaely up there, and when we investigated further we realised that it was a perfect choice. The Ardilaun is a traditional hotel which really has a sense of class about it. It provided exactly what we wanted.
Leading up to the wedding we were always treated very well and the people we dealt with were lovely. Many of our guests told us how happy they were with the hotel and how nice the staff were.
On the day of the wedding, I can say that we felt like royalty. Everyone made such an effort to make things perfect. Personally, I felt like a princess for a day, not just because I was getting married, but with the celebrity treatment we were given. The food was, as always with the Ardilaun, amazing. Every single person was happy. Even those in the family who are known to have extremely high standards.
We definitely had the red carpet treatement. The honeymoon suite was so unbelieveably beautiful. I could not have imagined anything classier than the traditional furniture and huge rooms. Everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahrua1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear 'Sarahrua1',

Selecting a wedding venue is a very big decision and we realise exactly how important the day is to you and all of your family and friends. We are very grateful to you for having booked with us and it was our pleasure working with you throughout the planning process and having you all with us on your very special day.

In 2012 we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the hotel - we opened our doors on St. Patricks Day in 1962 and have been welcoming happy couples to the hotel over the past five decades. Thankfully, we have gone from strength to strength with great achievements over the years - e.g. Wedding Venue of the Year for Connacht in 2011.

We wish you a very long, happy and healthy life together as 'Mr. & Mrs'. When you are Ireland again, we hope that you will come back to visit us.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Wonderful hotel old style but clean and modern super friendly staff just outside the town (€10,- taxi or 15 minute walk)! Beds really comfortable rooms large clean modern bathrooms with baths and power showers. Bistro bar with cheap lunches and snacks. Restaurant service for breakfast and dinners excellent. Avalon beauty salon is small but the therapists are great and also super friendly. Pool stream room and sauna and jacuzzi also good. Go stay there! Super prices especially for Galway which is a great town full of culture and real Ireland!

Room Tip: Ask for a tool at the back not facing front as smokers go out there and you can hear them talking if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear 'Lorna D',

We really appreciate your tripadvisor review but, most importantly, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your Ardilaun experience feedback here.

We hope that we will welcome you back as our guest again at some point in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
342 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

this was our last hotel in our "castle" tour of Ireland and not booked as a hotel but still was disappointing. It was nice looking on the outside and the staff were friendly and helpful, but the rooms were small and shabby, but clean enough. Not special in any way. The breakfast was OK, the exercise centre very nice. We had noisy pipes all night long, from the heating I guess, but our sleep was disturbed, a big no no when on holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gitta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear 'gitta45',

Thank you so much for your recent tripadvisor review. As is the case with all feedback to the hotel, it has been communicated to each department.

While we appreciate you taking the time to post your review, it is disappointing for us to read that you did not totally enjoy your stay with us.

It is unfortunate that you seem to have received incorrect information in terms of our hotel description. We can assure you that we do not market ourselves as a 'castle' - directly or with any tour operator we work with. As we cannot be 100% sure of the source of your booking, we are unable to give clear and accurate feedback to you but can assure you of this. We would very much welcome further feedback from you in order that we can ensure no other guest would be mislead in the future - i.e. where you saw us listed as a 'castle'.

Apologies to you for the inconvenience in relation to pipe noise - this has been brought to the attention of our maintenance team to be addressed. Again, we are unsure of your room number but will certainly look into this.

At The Ardilaun, we take huge pride in our level of cleanliness throughout the hotel - we regularly achieve award status with the most recent having been awarded only a matter of weeks ago - IASI Accommodation Award. We would not agree that our rooms are 'small and shabby'.

Again, we thank you for taking the time to post here on tripadvisor and we hope to hear from you again.

Should you be returning to Galway in the future, we would be delighted to welcome as our guest again.

Kindest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.2 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
2.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.3 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
5.2 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
4.4 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Property: The Ardilaun Hotel
Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,451 - ₹ 11,454
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing