We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night getaway”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Booked the hotel via Supervalue reward deal break.
Picked the only 4 star hotel available in Galway for the selected dates.
On arrival, we were directed to our rooms and as we walked further and further away from the main reception, the communal area was less appealing. First impressions of the bedroom was that it was absolutely freezing and generally grubby. Windows were left open. On closing them, I had to be careful not to touch all the mildrew that had gathered around the frame and sill. There was yogurt type substance splashed on tv and the bed spread looked like something from the 80s and had stains suggesting that it hadn't been washed since then. Because the room was so cold and there wasn't adequate or clean bed covering, we requested a duvet. Pulling back the floral bedspread, we found nuts and other food scattered under the bed. It was clear that a vacuum had not been used in a very long time. Next to the nuts and crumbs, there was a rentokill/vermin box. At this stage we felt physically sick and could not stay any longer.
There was no offer of an alternative room. We even offered to pay full amount for an upgrade. We were forced to leave the hotel at 11 o'clock.The manager spoke very quietly to me as the reception area was busy and promised to call me to discuss further. He never did. We found an alternative hotel and checked in at midnight, exhausted following the situation.
We are highly sceptical of the Ardilaun's treatment towards us and wonder if our stay was not booked under the 'Supervalue/reward' scheme, would we have been treated like proper 4 star guests. in any event, we are regular travellers to hotels and were delighted to pay any rate that matched the service expected. We will never step foot in the Ardilaun again.
I would suggest that management alert customers in the future as part of their advertisement, that if they book any special deals etc, that they will not receive 4 star treatment, and could be accommodated in the more delapidated and unclean rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
43  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Elaine,

Thank you for your comments. As you are aware, we have made several attempts to make contact with you in relation to your feedback. Customer service is very important to us and we would very much have welcomed the opportunity to speak with you in person.

Please accept our apologies that the room assigned to you was cold on arrival. It was an oversight on our behalf that the window was open. This has been brought to the attention of our accommodation team.

Having personally inspected the room you were assigned, immediately following receipt of your feedback, I can confirm that I found no evidence of mildew on the window sill or any stains on the television. You are correct in saying that underneath the bed had not been vacumed as it should have been – this point has also been brought to the attention of our accommodation team and has been addressed.

The room which was assigned to you is one of a more classical design and we have had many compliments from our return visitors and guests. The room has been refurbished within the last couple of years to include new and expensive wallpaper and bedspreads – all of which are very good quality and condition.

The boxes which you observed underneath the bed are installed in most Irish hotels as a proactive and preventative measure to ensure guests have a completely comfortable stay.

I have spoken to the receptionist on duty the evening you were with us and I understand that you would have been happy to have been upgraded to another room. Unfortunately, we were not in a position to offer you a reallocation as, thankfully, these rooms were already occupied by other guests – the sign of a very well managed hotel. We would have been happy to move you to another room but it appeared the room would not have been to your satisfaction.

Our duty manager who spoke with you, and who describes you in his notes and a genuine and nice lady, should certainly have made contact with you the day following but was on a day off. He is sincerely apologetic that he did not make contact as promised.

Our Supervalue customer is just as valuable to us as any other customer, guest or visitor and we continuously welcome repeat Supervalue custom. Supervalue guests are treated no differently to any other guest. It would be organisationally impossible and incorrect to do so.

If you would like to reconsider, and take the time to speak with us, we would very much welcome your call.


Best Regards,
John Ryan
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,091 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

I would like to recommend the hotel to anybody looking for a nice relaxing break in quality surrounding where a high standard of care for the guest is to be received from every member of staff. The hotel while modern holds a quality perhaps left behind by many of the newer hotels. In every area of the Hotel one can relax peacefully while quietly viewing the comings and goings. The grounds are spacious and the garden areas beautifully kept. This has been our second visit and we will be returning again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear 'MDoogan',

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your second visit to us and look forward to welcoming you back for your third.

Your feedback has been very gratefully received.

Kindest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We recently celebrated our parent’s 50th wedding anniversary at the Ardilaun Hotel, We had booked a private room for dinner and dancing for 48 guests. Although the hotel was busy with a large wedding and christening that evening, the level of service we received from the moment we arrived was outstanding. The food was fantastic, but what impressed me most was the warmth and friendliness of the service. Ann-Marie in sales helped us with all the preparations, offering advice and suggestions, Maureen and Nizib were superb on the night, ensuring the evening went without a hitch. If you want to celebrate an event where you can be sure of genuine interest and attention, I would wholeheartedly recommend the Ardilaun Hotel.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank kmcd114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear 'kmcd114',

We are very happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your celebrations with us recently. Thank you for having booked with us.

Feedback is very important to us and your very kind comments have been communicated throughout the hotel.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmenst Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

With a huge, comfortable bedroom, big bathroom, very good staff, great breakfast, lovely dinner & bar, it would be fair to say that this hotel is one of the best I've stayed in.
Parking was no problem (& free) in the very big outdoor carpark. The man at reception ensured that check in was super smooth, friendly & effortless. My non smoking room on the 2nd floor was a jaw dropper. Really, really big & roomy & with an earthy colour scheme. Nothing but positives.Bathroom huge and gorgeous big bath and seperate shower.
Food in this hotel is outstanding and breakfast is the best i've tasted anywhere. The bar was nicely decorated, had comfortable seating & a good, friendly atmosphere.
Checking out was as effortless & friendly as checking in had been.
We also went to both the Spa and leisure club. The pool, sauna, steam room and jaquzzi were very relaxing and not over crowded. The spa was lovely, both of us got a massage and the lady was lovely and made you feel very relaxed.
This hotel is ideal for a break away for couples and families. Beautiful surrounding and really homely feel. Modern but very cosy and very reasonably priced in the heart of Galway City. i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear 'ducky18',

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us recently and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit.

We are very grateful to you for having taken the time to post your review here on tripadvisor and for your recommendation to others.

Thank you again and we hope to have you back to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

A very homely well run hotel. Food excellent and attention to detail in all areas apparent.Maureen Walsh on the ball when spotting new comers and goes out of her way to make sure everything is up to standard and everybody is happy. The reception is very well run and they are experienced in dealing with all queries.The hotel is in a beautiful location and close to Salthill and city centre. The children had a great time in the pool and the kids menu has a great selection including pizza.

Room Tip: If they have a wedding make sure the room is the other end of hotel as the guests can be singing etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LornaLoyalCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear 'LornaLoyalCustomer',

We are very thankful to you for your review and really are thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to have you back as our guests again soon.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,245 reviews
1.9 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
1.7 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,610 reviews
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.1 km away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: ₹ 4,748 - ₹ 12,683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing