We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,688)
Filter reviews
1,689 results
Traveller rating
799
471
231
120
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
471
231
120
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centredog friendly hotelbeauty salonwedding receptionsuperior roomlovely hotelwedding venuerelaxing breakbar foodbit datedenjoyable stayboth nightsgalway citywould highly recommend this hotelfrom start to finishtop classlast weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,351 - 1,356 of 1,689 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

With a huge, comfortable bedroom, big bathroom, very good staff, great breakfast, lovely dinner & bar, it would be fair to say that this hotel is one of the best I've stayed in.
Parking was no problem (& free) in the very big outdoor carpark. The man at reception ensured that check in was super smooth, friendly & effortless. My non smoking room on the 2nd floor was a jaw dropper. Really, really big & roomy & with an earthy colour scheme. Nothing but positives.Bathroom huge and gorgeous big bath and seperate shower.
Food in this hotel is outstanding and breakfast is the best i've tasted anywhere. The bar was nicely decorated, had comfortable seating & a good, friendly atmosphere.
Checking out was as effortless & friendly as checking in had been.
We also went to both the Spa and leisure club. The pool, sauna, steam room and jaquzzi were very relaxing and not over crowded. The spa was lovely, both of us got a massage and the lady was lovely and made you feel very relaxed.
This hotel is ideal for a break away for couples and families. Beautiful surrounding and really homely feel. Modern but very cosy and very reasonably priced in the heart of Galway City. i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear 'ducky18',

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us recently and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit.

We are very grateful to you for having taken the time to post your review here on tripadvisor and for your recommendation to others.

Thank you again and we hope to have you back to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

A very homely well run hotel. Food excellent and attention to detail in all areas apparent.Maureen Walsh on the ball when spotting new comers and goes out of her way to make sure everything is up to standard and everybody is happy. The reception is very well run and they are experienced in dealing with all queries.The hotel is in a beautiful location and close to Salthill and city centre. The children had a great time in the pool and the kids menu has a great selection including pizza.

Room Tip: If they have a wedding make sure the room is the other end of hotel as the guests can be singing etc into the early hours but this can'not be helped by the staff in some cases.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LornaLoyalCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear 'LornaLoyalCustomer',

We are very thankful to you for your review and really are thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to have you back as our guests again soon.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you are the kind of person that likes a homogenised hotel you know the sort lots of tiles, beige furniture staff whose first language is not English and a fee for everything then this is not the place for you. It is a traditional hotel with a busy lobby, proper bar and food whose description matches its quality without the pretensions of other modern hotel. It’s room lay out is a little higgly piggly but it is built around an old family home so enjoy it. It is fair to say all rooms are not equal but all are real. Sometimes it is just nice to stay in a proper building not some upgraded industrial unit with attentive staff and human activity rather than soulless prepacked experiences of other hotels in the sector. Well done Aridlaun House Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel with garden views
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fussyguest122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear 'Fussyguest122',

Thank you. What a really lovely review. We are delighted to receive your feedback.

We are grateful to you for having chosen to stay with us and we look forward to the possibility of having you as our guest again in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here during March with my wife and daughter. Restaurant food was excellent, nice bar, great service and very friendly and helpful staff. I would highly recommend and will return again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marym2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear 'Marym2012',

We are sincerely grateful to you for your very kind review but, most important, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank You

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here because I was attending a Christy Moore gig in the hotel and I think they used this as a reason to charge a high B&B rate.

Stayed in the older part of the hotel. The room was a little out-dated, the bathroom especially. Sound-proofing was poor as you could easily hear people in the corridor and room adjacent.

Breakfast quality was poor and nowhere near a 4 star standard. It was very obvious it was pre-cooked hours earlier.

Would consider other alternatives for a return trip to Galway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champ1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear 'champ1984',

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following you stay with us in September. I hope that you enjoyed the concert - we got great feedback from it for some time later and I know that Christy himself really enjoyed it also.

Unfortunately I cannot be sure of the details of your specific booking but can confim that we offered special rates, to include concert ticket, to those who travelled to Galway for the event and stayed with us. Our rates were certainly not increased - I can assure you of this.

As I do not know which room you stayed in, I cannot give accurate feedback to you at this time. However, it would be important that each guest realises that their comfort is important to us. Over recent years we have spent €12m on redevelopment of the hotel. Any rooms which were not included in this redevelopment have been, or are being, refurbished. We contine to work through the refurbishment programme.

In terms of breakfast served, it is most disappointing that you felt it was poor. We very frequently receive exceptional feedback - even from mystery guests. Breakfast is cooked freshly and replenished throughout the timings during which breakfast is served and there are both hot and cold options for guests to select from. I have brought your comments to the attention of our head chef.

Thank you again and I hope that you will consider us when you are staying in Galway again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews