We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly luxury”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I visited theArdilaun for the 4th time on 22nd April with my husband and our lovely Golden Retreiver , Tony. They have dog friendly rooms that open directly onto the beautiful gardens. The rooms are very spacious and they even throw in a bonio for the four-legged guests and convniently a dog bowl is also provided. We had a tasty meal and a drink in the bar. We headed off ealry on Saturday after a delicious buffet breakfast. The hotel has a great leisure club but we didn't have time to enjoy it on this visit .

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Dear 'sallayden',

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very pleased to read that you, your husband and Tony all enjoyed your stay with us recently.

It is a pity that you did not have the time to visit our leisure club when you were with us but hopefully next time you visit you will.

It is much appreciated that you have taken the time to make others aware of your memorable experience with us and we very much look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,213 - 1,217 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

Stayed with a group of 40,the hotel has the friendliest staff I have ever encountered,the food is supberb,well the accomodation speaks for itself,it comes Highly Reccomended.

Room Tip: Speak to Kate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dominicjdunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2011

Dear Dominic,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to let others know of your Ardilaun experience.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the future.

Best Wishes,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in this excellent hotel. From the time we checked in to the time we left everything was fab. It was so good that we are going back again this Satuday night. Staff are very very friendly and helpful. I had some beauty treatments and I have to say it was excellent. The food was top class even though we had to have dinner in the bar as it was a sunday night. The grounds to the hotel are very nice. The only thing that was wrong was the shower in the room was not working and we had to be moved the second night. It was a little bit of a disappointment as I like my shower in the morning, anyway it has not put me off going agian. Look forward to Saturday and having some more treatments and some of the fab food and drinks.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuzbyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Dear 'BuzbyBrown',

Thank you so much for your review on our hotel. We really are delighed to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Again, sincerest apologies to you for the inconvenience in relation to issue with the shower.

Thank you for booking with us again. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on Saturday.

Warm Ardilaun Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

My decision to book or not book a hotel has often been influenced by the reviews posted by other people yet I have rarely written a review. When it comes to The Ardilaun it was always through word of mouth from friends that we first booked and have returned several times. A trip to Galway now automatically means The Ardilaun. The wonderful friendly and efficient staff should be reason enough to book. The smile you receive at Reception as you check in is only the first of many you will see on the faces of staff during your stay.

Any of the rooms I have stayed in have been spacious, beds very comfortable (extra pillows/blankets in wardrobe), in-room safe and good sized bathrooms with toiletries. Breakfast is served buffet style with a great selection of hot and cold foods to suit every taste. Tea/coffee and toast is delivered to your table by the waiting staff (no need to hang around making your own toast while the rest of your breakfast goes cold). Light snacks and full evening meals are available in Blazers Bar. During our stay there were special deals on 2 or 3 courses with a glass of wine from the bar menu. In fact, on this occasion our bar food turned out to be more enjoyable than our inclusive dinner.

Hotel location is great, quiet and peaceful yet close to Salthill or Galway City. Even with your own transport available I'd suggest using the excellent local bus service which passes the hotel gates and goes to Eyre Square, it's hassle free and saves on parking charges! For those who want to stick close to the hotel and relax, the pool is fantastic, Avalon Beauty Salon looked very inviting but time didn't allow and the seating areas around the foyer are ideal for lazy coffees, pre or post dinner drinks, a spot of reading or even just people watching.

Most liked - the foyer seating
Least liked - leaving

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craftycavangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Dear 'craftycavangirl',

We are very grateful that you have taken the time to write a review on us - THANK YOU.

Your words really are lovely and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoy your stays with us. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Thank you again.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

My husband and I together with our two friends have just returned from yet another wonderful short break in this hotel. We cannot praise the staff enough for the excellent customer care. The reception staff are extremely pleasant and welcoming. The restaurant staff are courteous. The food is exceptional. Looking forward to our next visit. Well done Ardilaun!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idyllic51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Dear 'Idyllic51',

Yet again - thank you for your very valued and appreciated review,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guests once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Warm Ardilaun Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.2 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,769 reviews
1.9 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
393 reviews
1.7 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,309 reviews
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
10.3 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill House 2 Taylors Hill Road, Galway H91 YV5Y, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: ₹ 4,540 - ₹ 12,584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing