We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best B&Bs I stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #87 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Barcelona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best B&Bs I stayed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed in Desota house just for one night in January and it was lovely! When I booked it I thought it would be just another B&B with old furniture and cheap price. But just when I arrived I realised how modern and well equipped it was. It seems like it has been refubished recently. Everything is kept great conditions. The room, the toilet, the whole house in general is nice, clean, neat and really cosy. The heating was on at all times so it was great to feel warm after experiencing the cold and wet Irish weather.

The location is unbeatable. Right beside the University and the Hospital, literally five minutes walk to the Cathedral. In a busy but quiet road. With a few take aways, pubs, and local shops right beside it. Ideal for people who want to be in a quiet area that is surrounded by all kind of amenties and within walking distance to the city centre.

There is also wifi and a computer complimentary for all the guests. I thought it was a great idea as most B&Bs don't really have that option at all.

The breakfast room was lovely too. There were several options for breakfast, cooked breakfast or a kind of "help yourself" section with cereal, fruit, yoghurts, juice, different types of bread, etc.

I just loved it and taking into account I only payed 45 euro I was not expecting so many things. Many other B&Bs would charge you 20 euro more and wouldn't have so many things on offer.

The only negative point (well, not so negative) that I could find is that breakfast is only served from 8.30 to 9.30. Many other places have one hour and half or even too it felt like I had to rush a little. But anyway, it's not such a big deal, I guess that there is no point to serve breakfast for two hours when the house has only 10 rooms and there's not that many people staying.

All in all, my short stay in Desota House. Simple B&B but modern, clean and neat. Very good value for money! I would definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuria86gn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    63
    21
    7
    10
See reviews for
13
85
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

As previous reviews have said, the location of the hotel is great, not a bad walk to the centre, the rooms are clean and of a decent size, the breakfast is fine, and the staff are friendly enough (although not Irish which was a slight disappointment). But it is fairly bland, and has the feeling of a travelodge not a quaint B&B. But perfectly functionable for what it is.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
141 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

The house was located only a 5-10 min walk away from the central pedestrian streets. We had very comfortable rooms, modern house and furnishings, cool antique sewing tables, and the breakfast in the morning was great. The walk around the quiet neighborhood to city center was nice, with parking behind the house.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank occasionaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Location of this B&B was perfect for my needs as I had to have an early morning operation at University College Hospital which is about 2 minutes walking distance, staff were friendly and rooms were clean with en-suite Satellite TV and free Internet access, a snip at only 45 Euro...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Desota House is a great B&B, situated a very short walk from the centre of Galway. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with a flat-screen television in each. There are also tea and coffee making facilities in the room and some toiletries are provided in the bathroom, which is also clean and modern.

There are a number of choices for a cooked breakfast in the morning, as well as a lovely "help yourself" section - I loved the chocolate cupcakes that were available! Sky News was on the television in the breakfast room while we ate too, so it was nice to be able to catch up on the news

There is free car parking to the rear of the B&B, but you won't need your car to get to the centre of Galway as it is just a 5-10 minute stroll through a quiet suburban area from the B&B.

Overall, we found this place to be great value. We found the owners to be friendly and the location to be really good. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairyfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 km away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#29 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.5 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 km away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Sliding Rock
The Sliding Rock
#57 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.7 km away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 53 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 km away
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
#112 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desota House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desota House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Desota House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Desota House 54 Newcastle Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,352 - ₹ 9,244
Hotel Class:3 star — Desota House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desota House Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located, a scenic 5 minute walk from the centre of Galway City. All our rooms are ensuite and you can expect a comfortable stay in our property. We are located within 5 minutes walk from National University of Ireland Galway (NUIG) and University College Hospital Galway (UCHG). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Desota House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desota House Hotel Galway
Desota House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing